We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Down By The River Bed And Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Benson)(Great Value!)
$76
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Benson)
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tombstone Grand Hotel(Tombstone)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn(Tombstone)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larian Motel(Tombstone)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
109
4
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
4
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird roomgracious hostskartchner cavernsstuffed french toastbird watchingstar gazing at nightgourmet breakfastsouthern azprivate patiosan pedro rivercochise countyeach morningroom was spacioustombstonebensonpropertyobservatory
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 117 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our second visit to Down by the River and it certainly won't be our last. Everything is wonderful, the hospitality is first rate, the rooms are so comfy and unique, the breakfasts - well they are so good you can't wait to get to the table. The location may seem remote but it is so convenient for a large number of "must sees" in Southern Arizona and sitting on the patio just relaxing is divine. The hosts, Mike and Angie, are so helpful and friendly , you feel right at home.
If you are looking for a relaxing trip you should not miss this incredible spot.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed three nights here and felt right at home. Mike and Angie take excellent care of their guests. Everything is beautiful and beautifully kept. The breakfasts are out of this world! The rooms are all excellent. I spent a lot of time sitting out on the patio watching their many birds at their bird feeders. There is also an excellent walk along the river and the views are spectacular. Thanks Mike and Angie for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A very nice relaxing B&B off the beaten path yet close to many historical places in SE Arizona. Good breakfast, good conversation, nice ambiance and gracious hosts. What more could you ask for. It was built specifically to be a B&B and in many ways reminds me of the original Red Setter Inn in Grear AZ in regards to personal touches. Oh, and it has a regulation pool table with a supply of straight pool cues that we took advantage of one night after dinner.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed two nights here and everything was great! Mike and Angie are great and make the wonderful accommodations extra special. The area is great for birding, hiking, or just sitting on the back patio enjoying the fresh air and scenery. Night skies provide good stargazing, too.
The rooms are wonderfully furnished with many fine details and very comfortable. So many things to see in the main room as well...very interesting. Coffee at 7 a.m., followed by a wonderful breakfast. Good conversation and lots of suggestions for places to visit. Highly recommend this place! One FYI for those who must sometimes mix business with pleasure (like me), WiFi is also available.

Room Tip: Rooms are all great. Prospector Room faces West, 2 other rooms have Kiva fireplaces. All have good privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

RFG2 it was fun having you here. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just spent 2 nights in this delightful place. It is a little off the beaten path but well worth the trip. The building - inside and out - is beautifully done. The rooms are large and comfortable and the décor an endless source of delight. Mike and Angie are wonderful hosts and even better cooks! Breakfast was a treat both mornings both for content and conversation! If you have a chance to stay here, don't pass it by. We definitely plan on going back - hopefully in the Fall so we can enjoy the inviting outdoor spaces. Thank you to the Hugs for a wonderful break!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Patti we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our B and B. hope to see you again in the future and we will be working hard to keep our standards high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews