We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Down By The River Bed And Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint David
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Down By The River Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint David B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent one night here and wished we had booked more. Mike and Angie are superb hosts; the breakfast was amazing and Mike's even shared his birthday cake and wine with us. It was a real joy! Down by the River is off the beaten track but well worth seeking out.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MMH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We pride ourselves in being off the beaten track. We really aren't actually but being in the setting where we live makes people feel that this little oasis is so secluded. We enjoyed talking with you and wish that we had more time to spend with you. Come back at anytime and we will treat you just as well if not better than the first time.
Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
69
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had heard that Down by the River B and B was an out-of-the-way treat, but my wife and I were overwhelmed with the tranquility and beauty of the place that Mike and Angie Hug run. We got to stay in the Cowboy room, as all four rooms have a theme. Each room contained a variety of antiques and framed photos of Old West posters, etc. The room was large and very comfortable, but the best part of the one night we spent at Down by the River B and B was visiting with Mike and Angie. Theirs is truly a wonderful story of getting away from the rat race of corporate city life and really 'living' in the quiet of rural St. David. They went out of their way to accommodate us in the morning, as we had an early schedule. The smoothies were great and the nut-laden toast and egg cup were delectable treats. We hardly had to stop for lunch that day. All in all, we would heartily recommend a visit to Down by the River. We plan to go back if we're ever in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce66287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Bruce
We are glad that you found us to be such a highlight of your trip. We hope that when you have a chance to come again you are able to spend more time with us and really enjoy all the other things to do in the area. Winters in Arizona is a good time to return and bask in the warmth.
Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just returned from a short yet refreshing get-away to Arizona. We met friends from Phoenix at this lovely bed and breakfast south of Benson, AZ. Mike and Angie greeted us warmly and obviously care about every detail of Down by the River. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the breakfasts incredible, the serenity and quiet very soothing. Definitely a special place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuitgods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We have had other guest that have traveled from different locations to spend time together at our b and b, since it was a half way point. We believe that we offer our guest that little something special to make their stay enjoyable. Hope to have you and your friends make another reunion trip in the future.
Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna Green
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights with Mike and Angie and would do it again in a heartbeat. What can I say that has not already been said by other reviewers? The photos do not really fully portray the experience. You will be pleasantly surprised that rooms are nicer and a little larger than they appear in photos. Yes, the food is great. They seem to enjoy and take pride in feeding guests very well. The common areas are beautifully decorated with Western and Native collections. The location is quiet except for the sounds of hummingbirds and other pleasing country sounds. To access this property, you drive down a long bumpy dirt road that may make some guests uneasy, but this is Arizona. If you want paved roads to your door, stay elsewhere and miss the adventure. While you may not be looking to make new friends, you may leave a visit to Down by the River feeling you have made new friends, like it or not. While small details may not be exciting, they can make or break a stay for some. Bath towels were thick and luxurious. The water pressure and quality were great. The fridge in the room kept things very cold. The floors and bath area were very clean. They served wonderful breakfast on time and as scheduled. This quiet paradise is a nice central base if you want to visit Tucson, Bisbee, Tombstone, and other southern Arizona destinations. This choice was definitely a winner!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickEtnaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Manager at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Rick
We want to thank you for your kind words. It is hard to show exactly what this place is like from pictures and you are not the first to tell us that it is much better than what the pictures show. Even 4 days here aren't enough to see all of the things in this area. We hope to see you and your wife again at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the B & B with the Hugs. Mike and Angie are gracious hosts and are very involved making sure your stay is first class. The rooms are very clean, the breakfasts are over the top. I especially like the smoothies that they served.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you Rob for choosing us at your destination lodging. When you come back we will have another breakfast that you can rave about. Hope to see you again in the future.
Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friends and I spent 3 days in Southeast Arizona visiting Bisbee, Tombstone and wine tasting. Down By The River B&B was the perfect place to stay. It is off the beaten path, very quiet. Mike and Angie are the consummate hosts. The breakfasts were gourmet quality. Smoothies were delicious.
The entire B&B is a museum devoted to the Southwest. Antiques are everywhere. Each room has a theme. I stayed in the Prospectors room. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. There was a coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave in the room.
My friends and I are already planning another trip to SE Arizona and will definitely stay at Down By The River again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Karl
We want to thank you for bringing your friends with you to the B and B. We enjoyed your group and we are glad that we were able to spend some time getting to know them all. We now have more friends because you brought them with you.
Safe travels my friend.
Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the B&B. This beautiful adobe property is the ideal getaway for the local area. Angie and Mike are gracious hosts who are sincerely interested in making your stay the absolute best. All rooms are impeccably clean, the breakfasts are great with menu's changing every day. All rooms are decorated with memorabilia from the southwest and enriched with all types of antiques. Mike is extremely knowledgeable of distance to local sites and will give you lot's of support as you develop your itinerary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks James
We were glad that you came and brought such an interesting group of people with you. We hope to see you again in the future.
Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint David
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Benson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
13.0 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
21.9 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Quail Hollow Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down By The River Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down By The River Bed And Breakfast

Property: Down By The River Bed And Breakfast
Address: 2255 Efken Place, PO Box 387, Saint David, AZ 85630
Location: United States > Arizona > Saint David
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down By The River B and B. The Lodging Hub of Cochise County, is located at the northern end of the San Pedro River National Riparian Conservation Area, between Benson and Tombstone. The area is one of the best in the United States for migratory bird watching with more than 400 species migrating through the area in a years time. We are minutes from Tombstone and Kartchner Caverns, a newly opened wet cave system located in Benson AZ. The property consists of 4 guest rooms set on 15 acres abutting the San Pedro River, the last free flowing river in Arizona. The mountain views and tree lined river views give the B and B a romantic quality seldom found in the Arizona Desert areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing