We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovered the secrets of the Cold War”

Titan Missile Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sahuarita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The guided tour shows visitors how ready the U.S. was for war with the Soviets.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Discovered the secrets of the Cold War”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This museum is amazing. As a child of the Cold War, I never dreamed that I would ever get to visit the site of a Titan Missile (well, less the nuclear war head). This is a complete step back in time as you go through the blast doors and into the launch room of this formerly highly secured area. It is fascinating to me to explore our past through the declassified secrets of yesteryear, and that is just what this place allows you to do. The guided tour part was very fun and even entertained my 8 year old daughter who was able to move the 6,000 pound blast door! This is a must do. It appeared to be very popular, as we got the last tickets for tours that afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    186
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots Of History”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The guides there were very informative. All old guys that sounded like they knew what they were talking about. It's a good time waster.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Who Knew?”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

You step back into the heart of the Cold War and the insane -- but apparently effective -- strategy of Mutual Assured Destruction. (We are, after all, still here). The tour guide was fabulous at explaining everything from military strategy to the endless back-up systems and checks and double-checks that some very paranoid people designed. Absolutely fascinating! I'm so glad it's here to remind us of what the Cold War was like.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
276 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“You will leave the museum awestruck”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This museum is just a few minutes south of Tucson but you will be transported to another time in our Country's history.

This facility (one of many that was located in three states) was built as a retaliatory defense in case we were attacked by a nuclear bomb. These facilities were a sober warning to our enemies that if we are attacked your country would also become a waste land.

The explanation of the security systems at this facility will impress everyone. The checks, counter checks, counter counter checks are mind boggling.

The sight of this huge missile from the sides and the top at it's nose is also impressive.

This visit will be one of the highpoints of your trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rockcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Museum for History Buffs”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stumbled upon this former Titan missile silo about 15 miles south of Tucson and thought we'd stop. The Titan was the largest missile the US ever deployed and here was one frozen in time, approved by the Russians, and opened for tours. This is a place every kid should see to give them a sense for what the cold war was all about. Tours for the slightly interested $9.5 that last roughly 1 hour to nuts & bolt tours that last over 5 hours and even overnight visits for approx $80 meets the full range of interests. We took the 1 hour tour due to our time limitations. Slight discounts for seniors and vets. This tour starts with a quick sit down movie then it's off to the adjacent missile silo, yes an actual missile silo, that during the time was a Top Secret facility protected by use of deadly force. Our tour guide had been a retired military officer who had actually staffed a similar silo so his narrative was very colorful and provided a true sense of life below the surface. My wife even got to sit at the commanders station and push the actual launch button. After our tour we visited their gift store where there are some amazing gifts. Authentic vintage signage and pieces of equipment from that era as well as reproductions, traditional T shirts and touristy things were available. We spent 2+ hours there and for what was an adhoc stop turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. I would definitely recommend this place if you are in the vicinity of Tucson. Well worth it! Thanks

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titan Missile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Titan Missile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing