We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fascinating!”

Titan Missile Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sahuarita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The guided tour shows visitors how ready the U.S. was for war with the Soviets.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Absolutely fascinating!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My boyfriend just got through the fairly recent Eric Schlosser book, "Command and Control" and has been fascinated by nuclear weaponry and the Cold War. It was a great surprise to learn that we could tour, and see with our own eyes, a Titan missile, hidden in the desert south of Tucson. The decommissioned missile takes up eight stories of a silo in Sahuarita. The docents, at least the day we toured, are ex-military men including one gentleman who actually worked there "in the day." It was fantastic to hear his perspective on this moment in our history, to learn about all of the checklists and daily routines of those assigned to keep it "ready to launch" at any moment and to see this enormous weapon with my own eyes. You may have to book ahead as the tours are held on a limited basis.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    187
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Target two authenticated. Launch in 3, 2, 1...”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you have an interest in the history of the cold war, or in aeronautics and space you should stop here. It is the last titan II base built in 1963. Everything is still in its place inside just as if it were still running. They have a complete Titan II missile in the silo as well. There are two tours. A normal one that runs like $10, and one that is $60 and takes you all the way down the silo. Unless you're really really into the titan program I'd opt for the cheaper tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeamasterPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Level 6 Contributor
563 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The Titan Missile Museum does an excellent job in giving a historical insight into the inner workings of the former Titan missile program. It was extremely interesting and surprisingly accurate. We really enjoyed it!!! I'd highly recommend it!!!!

Helpful?
Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“FASCINATING !”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Well worth the price of admission! This exhibit takes one back to the power of the US arsenal during the cold war.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilOp48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Astonishing & Memorable”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Be sure to stop in and visit this amazing museum. Everything is as it was when the Cold War was raging. It is the only missile silo with the actual missile that sat in the silo still there (deactivated, of course). First you watch a 15 minute video about the history of the missile program and the site you're going to see. Then it's down 54 stairs to the control room which has been left exactly as it was when it was in operation. The docent is a retired gentleman who really knows his stuff and gave us a very comprehensive overview. If you grew up during the Cold War and "duck and cover," you'll love this experience. Don't miss it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titan Missile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Titan Missile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing