We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”

Titan Missile Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sahuarita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The guided tour shows visitors how ready the U.S. was for war with the Soviets.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a must if you're in the area. This is a short visit, 2-hour tops but worth it. Short film and then tour of the missile command center. There is a elevator for those that have trouble with the stairs. Our guide was excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    187
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tri-Cities WA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Want to see some remarkable Engineering that has been preserved for us to see? The Titan Missile museum is just like it was 50 years ago, ready to launch a nuclear missile, but its all unarmed so not to worry. Everything underground and mounted on springs to absorb shock.
If you like military stuff, also go see the Pima Air and Space Museum which is also south (and east) of Tucson

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacklmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“Highlight Of Tucson”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is one of the best tours I've ever been on - and I have been on hundreds. The docents are Cold War veterans, many of whom worked the silos. They not only take you down into the guts of the command center, but they bring it ALIVE! Kids get a little antsy but still like it - adults will be awed as they realize just how close we came.... to the button being pushed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What could have been!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

During the Cold War, the United States have 54 of these missiles spread out over the country!
Each one was 3 time the destructive power of the one we dropped over the city of Hiroshima in 1945. This facility is the only one left intact. It is well worth the time to see where the world was at during the Cold War. A great history lesson for one and all. The tour starts off with a short movie and then goes down 55 steps to the 2nd level. A great tour with very informative guides.
Don't miss it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A glimpse into the Cold War decades”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It took a while for me to decide to visit this site due to the frightening nature of the Titan missiles several decades ago. However, I am glad that I toured the museum, as it provided an excellent historical account of this whole program, including the complexities of securing such a site, avoiding potential accidents and maintaining critical communication during this intense time. There is a short film, and then a guided tour through the silo site, including views of the missile from within and above the silo, and a simulated launch within the actual control room. Sobering for sure!
I'm grateful that this single site was retained for history - the silo remains much as it was during the Cold War period. The guided tour seemed a bit hurried, otherwise, all was good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mosaic24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titan Missile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Titan Missile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing