We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The past brought to life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Titan Missile Museum

Titan Missile Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sahuarita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The guided tour shows visitors how ready the U.S. was for war with the Soviets.
Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The past brought to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just off of I-19, south of Tucson, is the Titan Missile Museum. There is a nice museum and gift shop. The tour is very interesting and informative. Since most of the silo is below ground, there are steps to descend to the control room. Those who cannot make the steps, travel to the control room via an elevator. The tour guide takes you through the steps required to launch a missile. After the control room tour you can wander the above-ground sites. This is well worth your time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GV_Retired-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    175
    17
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A first hand look at the Cold War.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Tucson, it was a short drive down I-19 to see the Titan Missile Museum. This Cold War relic is the only U.S. nuclear missile silo still in existence (decommissioned, of course...and confirmed by the Russian government).
The guides are very knowledgeable, and after a short video you get a full tour both above and below ground. Visitors witness, and participate in, a simulated missile launch after following the complex protocol of executing such a fateful mission.
It's a fascinating glimpse back at the days of "Duck & Cover".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing History Lesson!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was awesome! My Grandmother took my husband and myself when we visited and all of us were so interested! The staff was super informative and even lead you on a demonstration of turning the key (I got the honorary job our visit!) to detonate the missile. We took the one hour tour and it was perfect, although if you have more time you can explore a bit more, even do an overnight, in the silo. If you have an opportunity to go, I cannot recommend it enough. Amazing the history of these Titan II sites, and as only one remains in the area intact...something you may never get the chance to see and experience again! Worth every penny!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
317 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Cold War Nostalgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

During the cold war, there were 54 Titan II missile silos scattered about the country -- 18 in Wichita, 18 in Little Rock, and 18 in Tucson. I think it's pretty cool that of these 54 sites, only one remains intact in Tucson, Az. Defused and decommissioned, but intact. The tour takes you deep underground to the control room. The machinery and technology in the control room remains pretty much as it was when the silo was decommissioned some 30 years ago. Some of the things worth noting underground include 8-ft thick walls, 3-ton blast doors, huge shock absorbers to shield the missile from geological vibrations, and the actual launch keys.
And of course there is the 103-ft missile itself. Whether you are a cold war history buff or just curious, you can't afford to miss this interesting exhibit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very thought provoking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Engaging for our entire family from my 16 year old son to my 83 year old father.
The missile silo viewed from the top is a jaw dropper. This happens towards the end of the tour when you are walking outside. Definitely go over and view it on the surface looking from the top downward.

The docents giving the tour were clearly enthusiasts for sharing this period of World History with visitors. Their presentations were lively and interactive.

It was certainly sobering to see the magnitude to which we as a civilization were teetering on the edge of Mutually Assured Destruction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titan Missile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Titan Missile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing