We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Golf getaway”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were in the area for a golf event and, even though we live near Tucson, we decided to stay here. What a pleasant surprise. The hotel grouns, while a bit "old" ina few places, is very relaxing and pretty.The pool is remarkable and the restaurant is good, reasonable and has very cold draft beer. There were a couple of minor glitches in our room which merited only a word at checkout. We made a very good choice in hotels..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    109
    67
    42
    24
See reviews for
49
149
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Hotel was set in the best of natures highlights, wonderful views of the Santa Cruz Valley north of the US and Mexican border, during a moonless weekend (so the stars were even more prevalent), the birds were too numerous to identify all of them and they even supplied countless bats to keep the insect population controlled. The rooms were well decorated and the bath lotions were exquisite. Staff was more than accommodating but were few in number and the grounds and restaurant lent evidence to the need for more care. The food was tasty but the service was lacking, due to the inadequate number of servers. The grounds were going through the winterizing of the turf but the number of birds on the property left walkways, stairs and porches with signs of the bird's and bat's diets. I'm sure when the busy season arrives, the management will see that this is not an issue for the much busier time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztreesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I went down with a few friends to play golf and get a little taste of Mexico and it was the perfect destination. We got to have a beautiful place to stay on this side of the border, played golf, laid by the pool, and ate great food from the surrounding little restaurants, then took a 20 minute trip into Nogalas the next day for a little shopping and a new experience for those who had never been! The resort is a beauty you might not expect or hear about, but thats the charm of it... its almost like a tucked away little secret of Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Recently had friends go down and advised my wife to stay at this resort in rio rico. It was a charming resort with a lot of character and great pool. We will return again for a quick escape from tucson.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elway7037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The view is great. We loved that. Roooms were very nice. Staff is very helpful. Let me just give you one MUST if you stay here. EAT IN THE RESTURANT!! It was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The golf course was a fantastic lay out and so fun to play. I highly recommend the course and playing from the middle of the fairways. Great value as well for a Robert Trent Jones Sr. designed course. It was impressive to learn the PGA Tour Qualifying School was played at this course as well. I can see why! Challenging, yet fair, and a good quality golf course. Worth the travel to play.
The hotel was a pleasant surprise as well. The overall service was very good, bar/lounge was fun with quality drinks and service as well. Food was outstanding in the restuarant and the pool area was inviting and had lots of folks enjoying the sun. The rooms are a little above average, nothing special, but overall the experience is great! I'm going back and will hihgly recommend staying, dining, and playing golf.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azgolfguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Nicest place in nogales. We watched the storms roll in while having a romatic dinner

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanceinrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.2 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
23.6 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
9.5 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#5 of 7 in Nogales
40 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Property: Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Location: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing