We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Other reviews nicely go over the lovely layout and historic features of the inn, which i agree with. We reserved a room for 3 night and maybe we just had bad luck. But our room had a very very noisy heater, a fridge that didn't work, no internet connection, no wash cloths and NO chair to sit in (even though there was plenty of room).There were also cigaratte buts in a glass left on the balcony. Any single item I would have ignored, but the combination of problems was pretty bad.

The next day I asked to change rooms and they were very accomodating. The second room was much improved in that all the above worked. However, the fire alarm malfuntioned and we had to have maintenance come twice to stop the constant ringing.

Also, if you want quiet I suggest you ask for a 'quiet' room. My first room overlooking the 'town' had a good bit of highway noise (when on the balcony).

The final dissapointment, was after an 8 mile hike I was ready to use the hot tub - when another vacationer rushed up and told me two teenagers ('members of the resort') were just thrown out of the hot tub for .... um ....well .... let's just say we chose not to use it.

Re pricing: i was quoted one price and when I asked if that was the best price I was quoted a substantially lower 'promotional' rate of $119 per night. + taxes etc.

Dining: check out the local Mexican place down the street - not the one in the shopping center. Turn left at the gas station and it is 1/2 mile or so on the right. Family dining, very good food and cheap.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    109
    67
    42
    24
See reviews for
49
149
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, WIsconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We just returned from five nights at Esplendor. The hotel was basically empty, which would lead one to expect great service, but the skeleton staff were VERY slow.

We were put in a suite, which were originally two adjoining rooms. One was turned into a living room. This was nice, as we each had our own bathroom. Having a living room was nice because we had no place else to hang out. We would have been stuck sitting on beds without it.

The hotel restaurant prices were quite high for the level of service and food. The bar & restaurant menus were very limited. There are two other local bars, one did not serve food, but you could order from neighboring restaurants and have it delivered. The closest establishment within walking distance was a gas station. The return was @1 mile up a steep hill. What Rio Rico has to offer is very limited.

The pool area has a sign that no outside food or alcohol were allowed, yet not one wait person came out the entire day we were by the pool. We just kept going back to our rooms if we wanted anything.

Nogales Mexico is pretty overwhelming at first, but ok once you understand the program. We were warned to not be in Nogales, on either side of the border, at dusk.

Rio Rico is really out in the middle of nowhere. Anything worth doing was a half day trip minimum.

While we were there, the sign was painted over and there is new construction on the hill. It appears that this hotel us under new management or has a new owner and things are changing. In a couple of years it could be an entirely different place.

  • Liked — We had a suite.
  • Disliked — Only one ice machine for six buildings.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I can't adequately express my appreciation for all Esplendor did to make our meeting at the Esplendor and Rio Rico/Tubac so incredibly special!

From walking in and being offered a hot towel for our hands to checking out and being wished well - it was all wonderful. The rooms were delightful; the food superb; the staff extremely professional - the upgrades on my room and the Presidential Suite, the wine and disk - you made us feel so important!

Thank you, again and again.

Bottom line: I am already planning on bring out of town guests back to you. And, everyone in attendance was thinking of ways to return to each venue. Even today, I received a note of thanks from one of my executive committee
members.

I would recommend you and your property to anyone, anytime.

Patty

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank artguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00knitter
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2009

When we had first arrived to check in the staff was very nice and down to earth. We stayed for new years to have a little get away and it was nothing short of amazing. The rooms were spacious and clean. Even the little patios outside our room were private and relaxing. The pool area looked amazing (too bad it was too cold to go for a swim) The view of Rio Rico is even amazing. I will for sure be back.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 00knitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rico, AZ
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2009

When my friends and I arrived early to check in we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. Checking in was easy and quick, and the staff at the front desk had smiles on the whole time. When we arrived to our room one of our keys didn't work, so we returned to the front desk and they took care of it quickly.
The room was clean when we first entered, and there were no problems at all. We spent the night outside on the comfortable chairs they had for New Year's and we had a really good time.
Check out was just as easy as checking in, and the staff was still friendly the next day.
I would recommend staying to everyone looking for a place to stay in Rio Rico.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheffyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, IL
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We have stayed at the Esplendor Rio Rico Resort several times and we just love it! The setting is beautiful, the property is well maintained and the layout is really interesting with it's multiple levels and stairs around the courtyards. The rooms are decorated in an old Spanish style, are spacious and have a private patio. A refrigerator (always appreciated in the hot Arizona desert) is tastefully hidden in the entertainment center. Pool and spa area is great and gives the feel of a real luxury resort. The restaurant is a bit pricey but the food is excellent with a local flair. I had the barbeque ribs with the prickly pear sauce and it was the best I ever had. It's really a one of a kind place and we hope to return again.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, very relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Limited restaurant options outside of resort
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyILtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2008

I stayed here in July for 3 nights and it was heaven! I loved the pool and spa, spending a large amount of time there. Their food was a little pricey but good and there were other good restaurants in the area. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept with lots of "wildlife" here and there, giant bullfrogs, birds and other critters. I will definitely return to Esplendor!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank UglyKid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.2 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nogales
22.7 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Property: Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Location: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing