We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant location by hotel sadly lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Tucson, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant location by hotel sadly lacking”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice location, quite a bit to do in the area. Beds were very worn and uncomfortable. We paid extra for a 3rd person, but room was only set up for 2. We had to call and request another coffee, wash cloth, etc. 2 ice machines broken so only 1 or 2 for the whole property and they were always empty. We also asked (and attempted to tip) for an upgrade and told none available but the property did seem to be almost empty. We could not eat in the dining room one night as there was a wedding party booked. The bar offered the same food, but was very warm. I guess since it was Oct. air had been turned off. Sink area in the living room was very dirty looking and faucet sprayed water everywhere. The hotel staff was pleasant and the accommodations nice but very worn

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4sistersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    109
    67
    42
    24
See reviews for
49
149
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Esplendor and took advantage of their play and stay package. The Hotel is older but the views are beautiful and it was relaxing. I personally enjoyed all of the birds! The restaurant served good food but the service was a little slow. We stayed 3 days and received 6 rounds of golf which ended up being an excellent deal. Would most definitely go back simply for the golf but if you're looking for a resort with a lot of things to do this is not the place. Would recommend for a nice, relaxing weekend getaway and it's only 2 hours South of Phoenix.

Room Tip: The rooms off of the pool are quieter. The patio on the second floor is nice. If you stay on the N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel workers were nice but management is not professional. There is no food service until 3:00 p.m. The grounds are beautiful but the room was dirty. I have stayed in this hotel before and it was much better managed than now. The only thing high on their review was their rates.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ85621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio Rico hotels

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Needed a day to get away and decompress, so I chose this hotel as a get away. It's an older property but quite charming with a southwestern decor, rooms very clean with a balcony that had a sensational view of the nearby mountains. There's a restaurant on the property which was good, everyone was very attentive and kind, and dog friendly! Prices were very reasonable. In general a well maintained property and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were visiting a festival near Tubac and the Esplendor was recommended by the festival organizers. Great recommendation! An older property, don't expect convenient outlets for your IPhone near the nightstand, or decent wi-fi, but this hotel has charm! The pool is outstanding and don't miss the hot tub over in the corner. We missed that until our last night of the long weekend. It's secluded and dark, but when the night breeze picks up, the hot tub is just right. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hvac is a bit noisy, but it did a fine job of keeping us cool unlike pricier, newer hotels we've stayed at. Don't skip the free breakfast. The dining staff went out of their way to make our breakfast experience memorable. The view from the dining room is not to be missed!

Room Tip: Tell the desk if you need a ground level room: this hotel was built in the 60s without elevators for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabu137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

When traveling in southern Arizona, stay at least a night at the Esplendor in Rio Rico. This is a resort setting not a motel. Very nice, clean, great views from a balcony overlooking the town of Rio Rico and valley. Southwest motif, beautiful grounds and pool. The price was right, very quiet. 12 miles from the border at Nogales. If you like old missions and presidios with art galleries this is a great base to travel out from. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the north side, second level. No elevators, a lot of stairs to climb with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had an event at Nogales and Esplendor is very close we decided to stay because of price. The front desk and the service at the restaurant are friendly.
Rooms are the mattresses are old the sheets stained and little mold in the bathroom.
The location and the views are amazing I hope the hotel gets a renovation that is needed. I would come back and try it again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaby j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.2 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nogales
22.7 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Property: Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Location: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing