We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing venue, with critter-sightings, to boot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
baja california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue, with critter-sightings, to boot!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

What a pleasant surprise! Having never heard of this hotel, my friend and I each got a room overlooking rugged hillsides (and beautiful sunsets) at the Esplendor Resort. The onus was on me for this to be a good choice, which was totally unfair given that my friend lives in Arizona and I do not. We were visiting nearby Tubac, an artists' colony, and wanted to go to the small burg of Patagonia the next day, so were hoping for a comfortable spot to settle in for the evevning. And that is how we ended up at the Esplendor. The staff was extremely friendly, especially Alfonso in the restaurant. The rooms were very nice -- clean, safe and well appointed. The food was fine (but they need to work on creating a better margarita). And although we did not use the amenities -- nor the golf course, for which we will definitely return -- they certainly seemed adequate. But what I loved was the little adventure that we had returning to our rooms. Pigs (no, no...not in the restaurant). Wild pigs -- javelinas -- grazing on the resort lawn that evening as we returned to our rooms. Now, true, this could be disconcerting...but don't be sty-mied (haha). A simple clapping of the hands is enough to scatter the Babe-Wanna-Be's in just a few seconds. This is a very nice resort, which we booked at a very reasonable price, and found to be a great value!

Room Tip: We had great rooms on the 3rd floor of the Road-runner complex...but be prepared to climb stairs! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angobango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    109
    67
    42
    24
See reviews for
49
149
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Went Dec 30-31, 2011 on Golf for Free package at $149. They accomodate pets for an extra $25, which was fine for us and our Golden. Room with king bed was very nice. Interior courtyard gardens were very pretty. Used the small exercise room-2 treadmills, eliptical trainer, 2 bikes, & universal gym equipment. TV to watch. We ate twice in the grill, and it was just adequate. They had trouble getting our orders right, but were nevertheless very nice. Golf course about 2-3 miles on other side of highway. Very nice layout, but was dissappointed in its condition. Was very busy, so play was slow-4hr 45 min. There really isn't much of a town so nothing to do outside of the resort. Tubac, about 15 minutes has lots of shops and restaurants tho. All in all, a really great value for a short stay. I would go back. Wife probably not(been there-done that)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2x4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We recently took a road trip across the Southwest and chose the Esplendor because of it's proximity to Tumacacori National Monument, San Xavier del Bac, Saguaro Desert Museum and Tuscon. The lobby and rooms are beautifully decorated with southwestern/mission artwork and furniture. The staff were friendly and accomodating both at the front desk and in the restaurant and bar. The room had a fabulous view of the mountains and the sunrise/sunsets were gorgeous. The grounds are very nice. We had several nice meals in the restaurant and in the bar. We got a very good rate. We would be pleased to get a chance to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyoto5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for a night because we are in love with Tucson and its surroundings. I'm not a golfer but if I ever become one this will be the place to play because the view is spectacular. The common areas are very clean and well preserved. The room was also clean and comfy. The service was superb, especially during the Sunday buffet. My suggestion will be to add something fun to do at the bar, Karaoke or whatever. Another option to have a little fun besides Tubac.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suckerfortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My wife stayed here for three nights over Thanksgiving and had a very good experience. The first night was a little noisy with a loud band and some late arriving guests, but the remainder of the stay was fine. We foudn the staff very friendly and helpful with food and service in their restaurant excellent and a good value. The Thanksgiving champagne buffet/brunch was well done in quality and quantity of selections.

Room Tip: Request a room with a high desert view for the best vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHtls, General Manager at Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you from myself and the entire staff. Hope to see you again and have a safe and Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I are avid golfers and since I retired I we decided to work on one item we have on our "bucket list". (Golf in all 50 states.) We now have 36 left to go after our trip to Esplendor Resort in Rio Rico, AZ via Las Vegas and Saint George, UT.

I initially found out about Esplendor as a result of a Groupon email I purchased in August. I checked it out prior by viewing several on-line reviews of both the resort, and golf course. It proved to be a great decision. The resort is under a hours drive from Tucson on a newly paved highway and is a perfect place for a 2-3 day get-a-way golf vacation. The staff at the resort, and golf course, were friendly and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. The food, staff and grounds at the resort was perfect. Our room had a great view of the mountains and had an old-fashion southwestern decor that matched the surroundings. In addition, the golf course was in above average condition, and the back nine had several memorable views. Overall we were very pleased with our choice and will certainly consider a return trip.

P.S.
The only issue we had was not related to the resort in any way. Since we were so close to Mexico, (15 miles) our smartphone were picking up the towers in Mexico so we got a warning the we needed to get an international plan. A call to customer service resolved this issue however I will be checking my next bill very closely. Based on various conversations we had with several people, we were not interested in taking a side trip across the border, especially at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a outside room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Great place for our annual music workshop in November. The Esplendor gives us great rates at this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room with balcony overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.2 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nogales
22.7 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Property: Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Location: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing