We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best pizza you'll ever eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonna Vivi Wood Oven Pizzeria

Nonna Vivi Wood Oven Pizzeria
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Rio Rico
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best pizza you'll ever eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This restaurant sits of the freeway 19 in a little shopping mall. Walking in the restaurant you could taste the atmosphere. People were sitting at tables inside and outside savoring their food. We ordered three thin crust pizzas. I tasted each one of them and they were all fantastic. The ovens are made in a wood oven right there for all to see. Robert our waiter was very curtuous and allowed us to make changes to the ingredients. The prices were also right. I have eaten pizza all over the world including many places in Italy, Boston, Los Angeles, etc...but this was the best ever.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globewalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubac, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great thin crust pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food, great ambiance, great service, reasonable prices...our favorite restaurant in the area. Go for the thin crust pizza. The pasta with gorgonzola was excellent as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Armor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pizza was chewy for thin crust”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I had this pizza as take out. I'm sure it would have been better if we had stayed and eaten in, but even a little less than piping hot, the thin crust pizza was a little more chewy than we would have liked. The Sausage pizza has a pesto base which may have contributed to the chewy texture because it sat for an extra 5 minutes. The caramelized onions gave this pizza a little touch of sweetness and really added to the overall flavor. The Italian Baguette was very good with fresh tomatoes over mozzarella....very yummy. Would recommend it for sit down for sure, or take out as a cheaper alternative if you are staying at the local resort. The service staff seemed very polite though it was a brief encounter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxyflute5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rico, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice staff, and lovely environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you walk in it feels very cozy and comfortable. Food is excellent, very thin crust pizza is elegant and on the light side. This place is not cheap, but they do offer lunch specials and carry out specials. Full wine and beer selections. Nice place for a relaxing meal. Enjoyed it very much!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank easterbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“When are you coming to Tucson??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hands down, best pizza in Arizona and beyond. It's a small place, very friendly, gets crowded but worth it! There are two types of pizza available and we tried both. The thin crust was absolutely sublime. The thicker crust was still good but got a little soggy in the middle with all the toppings. The salad was fresh and more than enough for 2. We had a lot of food left over. We were very surprised to find this place in Rio Rico while we were there for a weekend as the resort. We may even make the trip down just to eat here if they don't open one in Tucson soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonna Vivi Wood Oven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Nonna Vivi Wood Oven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing