We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We planned to play two days, but played only once”

Rio Rico Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Rio Rico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This resort is located an hour south of Tucson, atop a 4,000-foot mesa.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We planned to play two days, but played only once”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went with another couple for a golf weekend get-away and chose Rio Rico because of a great stay and play offer off Amazon. We planned to play both days at Rio Rico, but we were disappointed in how dry and poorly maintained the course was. Some of the greens were in good shape, but many were extremely dry. After the 10th hole, we called Tubac to play the following day instead of playing Rio Rico again. For about $10 more, we played in much better conditions at Tubac.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IM14FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    10
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really like this course”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

They have made some major improvements to this course. Very challenging and fun. Would love to come back and play. Only negative ( which isnt much) was I noticed they reversed the 9's. The front 9 which use to be the back, should have stayed that way. Only my opinion.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZchieffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much Improved Greens and Fairways”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'll just confirm some recent comments; conditions have improved significantly in the last few months. The greens on the front nine are generally in very good shape, and those fairways are also much fuller. There's still work to be done on parts of the back nine, but in general it's now about equal to the other public courses in the area. And as others have said, the course design and the setting are wonderful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Improving...great design”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Great Trent Jones design, but condition always has been average at best. But, if you enjoy an 'out of the way' golf course, it's worth a visit. Great staff. Not up to the standards of Tubac Resort, but enjoyable. The curent management team are working hard to improve conditions; and you can't beat the value @ $35. Recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bfairlc608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Course is on the mend, but enjoyable”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Played course 10 years ago and it was nice. This trip the course was not as nice, but playable. In speaking with the staff and other golfers who play frequently, the course had been neglected for a few years. A new company is now managing it and the conditions are improving year by year. I played the course twice and it was enjoyable, even though there were pretty stiff winds ( thanks Mother Nature). The staff is pleasant and helpful. The experience was worth the money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeanOleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Rico Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing