We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Choice”

Rio Rico Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Rio Rico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This resort is located an hour south of Tucson, atop a 4,000-foot mesa.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad Choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked reservations at the golf course after looking at it online but were really disappointed with the course. There is NO grass on the fairways. Most times you are literally hitting off the dirt. There is not much grass to even move your ball to. Lots of sand traps is the only thing going for it. We play 9 holes one day and 18 the next but will never go back. There are much better courses near Tubac and Green Valley. A couple of the holes were very pretty and had wonderful views of the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    10
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Is There Hope for This Golf Course?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We played at Rio Rico in Oct. I'll admit we got a good deal online and there was a "course alert" at the website where we booked our tee time so we were aware there was some issue. Only the back 9 was open. The front 9 is closed to try to become playable again. We had played this course in the winter when it was in much better condition than it is now. It looks like a public course that has very little money to pump into it to make it a quality golf course. There were a couple of greens that were in such disrepair it wasn't even worth putting. The course seemed very dried out which is surprising since monsoon season just ended. If someone comes to the Esplendor Resort to play golf at Rio Rico Country Club they will be highly disappointed. My advice would be to drive to Kino Springs and play a course that has been well maintained. Rio Rico will be closed for a couple of weeks to be worked on in Oct. One can only hope they do MAJOR work on it to bring it up to par (so to speak)!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GVgolfer2aces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un cut rough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I loved the course layout but the rough was totally out of control an you could not find your ball if any of your drives strayed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
“Rio Rico Country Club… A must play course!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Somehow surviving in the middle of a bad economy and a severe drought, I found this unique property well-maintained and in better condition than most courses in Southern AZ. Super- friendly and accommodating golf shop staff, rangers and food and beverage gals. We were paired up with a couple of members who were absolutely delightful and openly shared their enthusiasm for the game, golf club stories and the locale with us. Spectacular mountain views, huge pines, and numerous mesquites line a good part of the course and provide much needed shade on a warm day. On the sidelines we were lucky enough to see deer grazing on the hillside and a bobcat brave our drives while crossing the fairway in front of us on the back nine. A fun and challenging course with fun people made for a pleasurable day.

Don’t miss out on this one! We will definitely be back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TucsonJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What happened to quality?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Played the Robert Trent Jones course at Rio Rico and was surprisenly shocked to see the condition of the course in such poor quality. The green fees were still on the high side ,considering the time of year. Hard to believe that just a few years ago they PGA held Q school qualifying there. Would not recomend the course ,to many other good choices around the area...

Helpful?
Thank jparksr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Rico Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing