We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day hike opportunities.”

San Tan Mountain Regional Park
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Queen Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful day hike opportunities.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

San Tan Regional Park is in the far southeastern portion of the Phoenix metro area and is a great value for a day hike for the entire family. In addition to the challenging trails, there is a nature display at the visitor center which will keep the kids busy for a bit. The six-dollar admission price is great value and keeps the park from getting to crowded.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Efrem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
348 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Biking trails are wonderful”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location with great facilities! Hiking & horse paths are also well maintained! The San Tan Mountains are very pretty and close to the larger city of Gilbert.

Helpful?
Thank upupandaway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hike”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is an out of the way park that has a number of nice, not too challenging trails. Make sure and explore all the trails, take your time, have plenty of water and snacks, and enjoy the wonderful scenery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 561BrianT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Hike for a beginner hiker”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have only hikes a couple of times on small hills. I was a little worried about this hike. But ultimately I found it to be a great hiking location. We went on a 4.6 mile hiking trail which took us a little under and hour and a half. It was great. Nice clean trail for both hikers and bike riders. I think next time I want to try riding my bike.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BluntHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“San Tan Mountain rocks for hiking”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Forget the Gym! This mountain will get your heart pumping if you take the Goldmine Trail from the Wagon Wheel entrance then intersect with the San Tan Trail and finally the Dynamite Trail for a nice 4.55 mile loop hike! I do this loop regularly for training for bigger weekend adventures. The Park has beautiful wildflowers in the Spring, coyotes, and other wildlife early in the morning and extensive views of the Superstitions, Four Peaks, downtown Phoenix and the Valley! The Visitor Center provides workshops and seminars, clean restrooms and ample parking! If you park on the Wagon Wheel side, please pay the appropriate fees and don't cheat the government and the rest of us paying citizens to enjoy this fabulous Park!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Tan Mountain Regional Park also viewed

Queen Creek, Central Arizona
Queen Creek, Central Arizona
 
Queen Creek, Central Arizona
Queen Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to San Tan Mountain Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing