We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting find in Arizona”

Queen Creek Olive Mill
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Queen Creek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tour, Shop, Eat, Repeat at Queen Creek Olive Mill - Arizona's only working olive farm and mill. Family owned and operated, our 100-acre farm with over 7000 olive trees is a true blossom to bottle experience. Visitors are able to learn first-hand how olives are pressed into fresh extra virgin olive oil on our educational Olive Oil 101 tour conducted daily. Guests can taste their way through our gourmet marketplace and shop for locally made extra virgin olive oils, Balsamic vinegars, olives and other local treasures. Our Italian inspired Eatery features old world family recipes. We use local and garden-sourced ingredients to create our healthy and delicious cuisine and showcase how extra virgin olive oil can be used best in your kitchen. Our in-house roastery, Superstition Coffee, will ensure that you'll get the freshest cup of coffee you've ever had. With plenty to taste, discover and enjoy, Queen Creek Olive Mill is a true agritourism experience!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting find in Arizona”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a novel attraction because nobody expects an olive mill in Arizona! For a small fee ($5.00) you can take part in a short "Olive 101" course which is informative and interesting and also includes sampling the various olive oils made here. The place has a gift shop not limited to olive products, but also including other local foods, some crafts, wines, etc. We had lunch at the restaurant, where I enjoyed a delicious Italian chopped salad, but thought the menu selection was a little heavy on the sandwich & fries items. If you come at the right time, you might run into an art show on the grounds outside, which adds another dimension to the outing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    163
    41
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Excellent for a couple of hours and lunch or breakfast.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is an interesting couple of hours. The farm is run by one of 20 certified olive oil sommeliers in the world. The have 2,500 producing trees and have just planted 4,000 more. The tour gives a good run-down of the process of making oil, from the maintenance of the trees to blending the final product. The blend, interestingly, depends less on the variety than on the stage of ripeness. There is a tasting room that offers all of their regular and infused oils, several interesting infused balsamic vinegars (Fig and cranberry were our favorites.) and some salad dressings. There is good coffee and an excellent little restaurant. Good place for a morning and lunch or for breakfast (the breakfast menu looked particularly interesting) and a tour and tasting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful lunch and afternoon”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great activity for any pleasant AZ day. The Olive Oil 101 tour was simple (30 min, $5) but informative. Got history/lesson, saw olive press and had chance to taste every oil they make (but don't expect to explore to their main tree grove). Outdoor patio was delightful setting for lunch. Marketplace and eatery had delicious treats - definitely try a bruscetta board with your choice of tapenades/toppings. And Kalamata sandwich = yum!! They also have shipping available for purchases that you can't take on a plane.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“More than a olive Farm”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a family owned working olive farm. It has a walk-up style restaurant and shops for all kinds of items to purchase. They have a outside shaded patio and offer various musical events throughout the year. The main product is their hand crafted extra virgin olive oil made from nine different varieties of olives. They also have a olive bar that has over 30 different choices to sample and purchase. As a previous reviewer has mentioned they have some unique flavors.They have a complimentary wine tasting in the afternoon. The farm is somehow difficult to find as their are no directions signs advertising it's location. If you have GPS use it. If you in the Gilbert area the farm through is worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SedonaBob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, insignificant tour”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our intention of visiting this working olive farm was for the tour, but discovered a wonderful place for lunch instead. There is a fantastic restaurant on the site, their sandwich, The Kalamata, has been featured on The Food Network, and was an amazing sandwich. Definitely recommend it. The gift shop onsite is a little on the pricey side, but the quality of the items is not in question. Having tasted the fresh olive oil, I give it top marks. If you haven't tasted fresh olive oil before, you will be very surprised at the sweet fruity flavor.
They do offer a tour for $5. This tour does not go into the olive grove. It was harvesting time when I went, yet I did not see any part of their factory working. The machines were all idle, there was no demonstration of the pressing process. We did go into the processing room, but the explanation of what went on provided little information and was a bit confusing. There was available a "bar" of olive oils and vinegars for tasting, but that was at the end of the tour, and done on your own. It would have been nice to have the tour guide take you through a tasting of the oils, explaining the tasted notes and tell about how each oil is flavored and made.

I would come back here, just for the nice lunch on the beautiful outdoor patio, but will not have any interest in the tour again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Acuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Creek Olive Mill also viewed

Queen Creek, Central Arizona
 
Queen Creek, Central Arizona
Queen Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Queen Creek Olive Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing