We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food at a reasonable price with a friendly staff”
Review of Giovanni's Pizzera - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giovanni's Pizzera
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
“Great Italian food at a reasonable price with a friendly staff”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Having been to Italy numerous times I would have to say their food is the closest you can come to the real thing using products available here in the USA. The owner and staff go out of their way to make sure your food and dining experience exceed your expectations - they even do "special" orders. The restaurant is a little off the beaten path but your reward for finding them is better food at a more reasonable price than the "touristy" establishments closer to town. This is NOT a Sports Bar but they usually have live music on the weekends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    1
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
275 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
“Excellent NYC style, Italian, family restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a great, little restaurant. Being from NY, I've eaten in many of this type of family, Italian restaurant both in NY and New Jersey. We started with a delicious caprese salad and then my wife and I shared a pizza which was very good and then had baked zitti which was again excellent.

I appreciated the cloth napkins and the friendly service. It is obviously appreciated by other new yorkers because my wife and I were laughing our guts out listening to the deep Brooklyn accent of two couples sitting next to us.

We even liked the out-of-the-way, quasi industrial location and setting. I'd be a regular if I lived in the Prescott area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family owned Restaurant!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Fabulous authentic Italian food done right! I've been to many Italian restaurants in the Metro D.C. area. Giovanni's in Prescott is definately top notch food ad a good price.

http://www.giovannisprescottvalley.com/

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bass440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disgusting - call the department of health on that place.”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Me and my family are NO LONGER EATING THERE!!! We went there months ago and it was DISGUSTING. 1. When I went to the bathroom, I saw and heard one of the owners there “Tony” telling one of the employees to save allot of the food that came back from one of there caterings so they can reheat it and sevre it to the next one. 2. They dry the dishes with a dirty rag, your suppose to AIR DRY DISHES not use a rag because of the spread of bacteria. 3. They don't use tongs and gloves when they make salads, they use there bare hands and they don't even wash'em before they make'em. Me my family and everyone we know are never eating there AGAIN!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unkn0wn420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, RI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A diamond in the rough.”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I scouted out the restaurant for that night. My wife is Italian and we were on vacation. When I saw this one I was hesitant, Italian in Arizona? When she came back from shopping I said, how bout some Italian? She said yes. Olive Garden or some local fare? She said its up to you. I made the choice, we picked up some friends at their hotel and headed down to Giovanis. When we got there I started to wonder, did I make a mistake? We decided on the "La Familia" { $29.95} a sit down meal that feeds four with a nice selection of different items. What a hero I was that night. We went back a few nights later for more great food and the great friendly atmosphere. You won't find a better deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlSue69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Pizzera also viewed

 
Prescott Valley, AZ
Prescott Valley, AZ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing