We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
1 review
“Will stay again”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We (spouse and I) recently stayed at the Hotel Vendome. We had never been there before but decided to make reservations at this hiostoric hotel. The hotel was built in 1917 so we were not really sure what to expect. We were pleased to find that the room (#10) was comfortable and pleasant though somewhat small. The owners were extremely pleasant and acommodating. The hotel is located within walking distance of shopping and excellent eateries...the weather was great and the trip, though we had to cut it short due to an emergency at home, was very enjoyable up to that point...

We recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants to get away from the rat race for a few days...It's a step back in time to a less hectic time.. Thank you to the owners for making us feel welcome and comfortable... P-C- M

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mykelela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    100
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
245
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

My husband and I take an annual trip to Prescott from Phoenix because we need to get into that autumn, holiday mood. The Hotel Vendome is in perfect location to downtown Prescott. You can easily walk to Whiskey Row and the courthouse area. If you are looking to get into the Halloween spirit, it's a great place because it is supposedly haunted. The former owner, Abby, and her cat reportedly haunt room 16. We've never ventured to stay in that room. The hotel was built in 1917 so it is old but the rooms are up to date with large sunken tubs. The people were accomodating and they have a nice continental breakfast in the morning. They decorate with nice twinkly lights on the porch and when you walk in, you feel like you've traveled back to the early 20th century. It's just a quaint, quiet hotel with a lot of history and interesting stories. It's definitely a favorite place for us.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrashcatMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

If you are the traveller looking for those newer ammenities, large hot tub etc., then this Grand old Hotel is certainly not for you. However if you are immensed in the vintage realms of going back in time and experiencing what those decades before you experienced then the Vendome is a Hotel you can't pass by. Having been renovated in the 1980's and placed on the Historic Register it is a combination of original settings and some newer innovations to provide security, etc. The veneered wall paneling in the hallways is all original as are the veneered doors, the overhead transoms, and in some of the rooms the original pull chain toilets and claw foot tubs are still installed. It is within walking distance of the courthouse park where the fight scene in the movie "Billy Jack" was filmed; Whiskey Row with its numerous saloons; and Sharlot Hall museum.
The Hotel is quiet...depending on the room (below) affordable, and cozy. Regardless of what some previous travellers have written the current owners the Patels will go way out of their way to provide you with what you need if you ask up front.

In addition to the usual nightly customers there are perhaps several that are here ad perpetual hence my statement that some rooms may not be so quiet.. Doing a Google search for the spectre Abby Byr will pull up numerous web sites pertaining to Hotel Vendome Room #16 and rumors pertaining to it. Myself and an associate returnded to the Vendome on October 14th and 15th of this year after a previous night's stay in April in which I was personal witness to something that was rare and to me quite perplexing... prior to that time I had not been actively interested in ghost hunting. We brought in with us several thousand dollars of surveillance equipment and infrared camcorders and rented the three rooms at the end of the hallway near the upstairs veranda next to room #16. This was all done with the help of Nik and Rama Patel. Now, this is not to say that the Patels might not think that we were nothing more than "goofy" but they assisted us in patronizing our efforts. Nik allowed the veranda door to remain unlocked as our rooms gave us complete access to that end of the hallway and there were no other guests to disturb. Usually the doors are locked at 9 p.m. to prevent disruptive partying. None of this paranormal stuff may be your thing but the Patel's assistance does not speak of Hosts who are uncooperative as a couple of others have written. Just let them know in advance what your needs are. As for us, we will be back again shortly to follow up.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winggapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

On our first trip to Prescott and stay in a B & B we found the Hotel Vendome to be spotless and the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. Located between a terrific restaurant one one side and the #1 coffee shop on the other, it is just one block from the historic downtown, Whiskey Row, and unique shops. Close enough to walk to nearly everything yet far enough away to be very quiet at night. Also, rumors have it that a playful ghost named Abigail visits an upstairs room upon occasion, but she never visited us!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We normally stay at a B&B when in Prescott, but this trip we wanted to be able to walk everywhere. Enter Hotel Vendome. It's location is excellent -- about a block from Prescott's town square, meaning you can walk to everything, and right next door to one of the best restaurants in town, The Rose (which was, sadly, closed the two nights we were there).

The building is charming, and our room was nice, with a king sized bed dominating, a desk and chair, closet, and a great bathroom with a walk-in sunken tub. The owners have kept the lobby looking very turn of the last century, and provide a continental breakfast every morning at the "bar", which I hadn't realized was included. The lobby/breakfast area is lovingly decorated, and board games, magazines and rocking chairs on the porch are provided.

Nick is friendly and helpful, able to recommend a variety of places to eat, drink or shop, and very willing to go the extra mile. Any request we had he acted upon immediately. This was by far the least expensive place we stayed on our trip, and the value was great. Since it's not a corporate chain, the amenities aren't the same, but the standard hotel amenities were in the room and anything else we needed we just asked Nick for.

Our only complaint, if you can call it that, is that the bed we had was very firm. Since half the people we know would have loved it, we don't necessarily call that a bad thing, and I have no idea if all the beds are on the very firm side or not, but it might be something to ask if you can't handle the very firm side of the mattress world. This was our only king sized bed on our trip, so it was nice to stretch out, firm or not.

The hotel was exceptionally quiet, which was very pleasant, and even though it's near to Whiskey Row, we couldn't hear a thing from there when we were in our room.

If you're looking for a historic hotel with a great location and excellent value for the money spent, the Hotel Vendome is for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneTGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My sister & I have been staying here for many years in our requested room 16 and we have enjoyed each visit due to Kathy & Frank,always making us feel right at home and a great atmosphere for the young and old...We miss them terribly,and it is no longer the same place without them,the new owners are not very friendly,and the place does not have the same feel ,Frank always had coffee made day& night,we used to be able to go out on the veranda upstairs anytime,now that has also changed,the door has a lock on it now and that does not seem safe especially if there was a fire there would be no way to get out!!!!! Even the fire escape door was locked!!!!! I also left a note to call me if there was a cancellation in rm.16 so we could have that one instead of 17 and they never called me or even told me when we arrived,I was very disappointed!!!!! Kathy & Frank will be missed forever,and the Vendome will never be the same!!!!!!! The Bruno sisters(Phx,Az)......................

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VendomeHotelPrescott, Owner at Hotel Vendome, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
We appreciate honest feedback as it allows us to address issues or problems to make staying at Hotel Vendome enjoyable for everyone. We'd like to clear the air about the issues that the reviewer has raised.
1) We apologize that we were not able to put the reviewer in room 16, their first choice. At the time of their reservation, this room was already reserved by another guest. We were able to place the reviewer in room 17, their 2nd choice. While we did make a note about their preference in case of a cancellation, this information slipped through the cracks due to human error. We wish the guests had inquired upon check-in and we could have placed them in their first choice.
2) The upstairs veranda has always been accessible from 9am-9pm for the last 10 years. We took guest feedback to heart and installed a lock to better enforce these hours during busy times as it was the only way to keep people off the veranda after hours and minimize disturbances to guests in the rooms closest to the balcony. There is no exit to street level from our veranda so it doesn't pose any safety issue.
3) The fire escape exits located at the rear of the building are always locked from the outside but can always be opened from the inside. This has always been the case. Guests may exit from these entrances, but entry to the hotel is through the front entrance. This enables us to maintain better security of the building. There are stairways in the front and rear of the building for safe evacuation in case of emergency.
4) We are sorry that the reviewer thought that the staff at the Hotel was unfriendly. We strive to offer excellent service and an excellent experience to all our guests. This reviewer requested the contact information for the previous owners. At the request of the previous owner, we could not provide this and could only offer to pass on a message. We hope people that read this realize that this is not unfriendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The Hotel is a bit pricey for what you get. Granted we were there on the 4th of July and that window of time all the hotels raise the rates. The Owner/manager was extremely friendly and she was very helpful in giving us info. I will be returning at a time when there is nothing exta spectacular happening. I will check back with this web site then. I will be staying for more than just overnight.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtramCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.3 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#13 of 22 in Prescott
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
773 reviews
4.0 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#11 of 22 in Prescott
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Property: Hotel Vendome
Address: 230 S Cortez St, Prescott, AZ 86303-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#5 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#7 Family Hotel in Prescott
#10 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel built in 1917, the Hotel Vendome still retains much of its original charm. Located in the heart of downtown Prescott a half block from the Courthouse Square with many restaurants, bars, Whiskey Row, galleries and antique shops within walking distance. The hotel has 20 guest rooms with original clawfoot tubs, a wine and beer bar and an area to lounge and take in the beautiful front windows. Complimentary continental breakfast, guest pantry with tea and coffee. Romance/Pamper packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendome Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing