We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hidden spot!”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hidden spot!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place is a hidden treasure! Not a far walk from whiskey row. It has all the old Prescott charm that you will love and embrace! Its off a quiet street, near a quaint coffee shop. The rooms are decorated nicely and very clean. I love sitting at the bar, talking to Barbie who is so nice and on point with her service. For a small bar they have a great selection of beers. We are locals and love to stroll down the old Prescott streets and we always seem to find ourselves at this wonderful hotel. Decent prices for rooms and drinks. We were there over Christmas and it was decorated so beautifully. It made me feel like I was in Old time Prescott. We go at least a couple times a month just to have a beer and chit chat with Barbie.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    101
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
248
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Vendome just after New Year's. It's an old hotel with charisma and a great husband-wife team running the show. Even has a little bar inside the front. A simple breakfast in the morning as well as the reasonable rate brought us here, and we will return.Easy walk to the little shops in town, as well as to a nice walk along a stream. Not sure how quiet the rooms would be if the hotel were fuller, but it was fine for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insalata17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I spent four nights at the Hotel Vendome as part of a "working" vacation. I had a room with a queen bed at the rear of the second floor, with the updated step-in shower. The building is old but the bathroom, linens, and bed were all up-to-date. The October temperatures were moderate so I didn't need either heat or air-conditioning; I opened the windows at night for fresh, cool air. My stay was mid-week so noise from Whiskey Row wasn't an issue.

This is a "bed-and-breakfast" but it used to be a rooming house, two stories, each with a long hall with the rooms opening off of it. Thus it has an open atmosphere instead of the closed-in feeling that some former homes may give.

I spent several hours each day with my laptop, and while the room itself is equipped with wi-fi, there was really no comfortable place in the room to spend this much time typing at a lap-top. So I spent the time instead at one of the tables in the very pleasant lobby. The view from the lobby windows is a pleasant one of small-town America. The lobby is not large but it hosts a small bar open to the public, and the patrons, both local and guests, provided a social but not overly loud atmosphere. The free breakfast is also served at the bar. A guest pantry with ice, apples, cookies, teas, etc. was off the lobby and was a very nice touch.

The hotel personnel were friendly, courteous, and helpful.

Hotel Vendome is just south of the courthouse square, so restaurants and shopping are within easy walking distance. Prescott also offers shopping malls and many other more restaurants within easy driving distance.

I was in Prescott to do some hiking, and the area provides many different kinds of hiking trails from the easy, paved trail at Lynx Lake to the strenuous jaunt up Thumb Butte. The local mountains also provide mountain trails with a lot of elevation change; other nearby areas offer more high-desert-like hikings. An urban pathway along the local creek is available only a block or two from the hotel.

All-in-all, this was a most pleasant and relaxing getaway from the Phoenix area -- only 90 minutes away by car but a total change of terrain and atmosphere -- and I'm looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: You can look at each room on the website and choose yours based on the room amenities. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

What an enjoyable stay in this hotel. Barbie and Harry are great hosts. We enjoyed talking with them while sitting at the bar. They provided great recommendations for nearby restaurants and attractions for visiting guests. As an historic landmark, the hotel still has a lot of its original charm, with some modern amenities. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Prescott. PS Barbie enjoys it when you push the buzzer in the room (yes it still works).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

On our annual Thanksgiving trip, our group of 20 or so stayed in this hotel for three nights. The historic nature of the hotel made it incredibly charming, as did the owners and staff who clearly care a lot about the place. Our room was small but tidy, and the adjacent bathroom was fantastic - HUGE with a big shower and space to move around. I agree with some of the other reviews that there are downsides to staying in an older hotel - like cooler showers during periods of heavy use throughout the hotel and worn curtain shades that made street lights very obnoxious during the night. But, the price is very reasonable, especially since it includes a basic breakfast.

The best part of this stay, for me, was the location. SUCH a perfect spot, away from Whiskey Row but close to anything you need. Parking was a breeze and walking everywhere in the charming town was simple.

Room Tip: The upgraded bathroom was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_G84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

What a great old hotel with a lot of charm, including the owners. The rooms are well maintained, comfy and have all of the necessary amenities. Why not a 5 rating ? I'm pretty picky and there were a few details that you may want to know about before arrival. It could be a bit noisy between rooms (thin walls) as we could hear our neighbors talking next door. They were very comsiderate though and didn't chat too late. My first impression of the place was that it looked a little "tired". Worn carpets, missing light bulbs from fixtures, a well used mat at the front door. The rooms, however, were very satisfying and the fresh breakfast goodies are worth returning for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Vendome previously and enjoyed every minute of it. We decided to take our annual trip and stayed again at the hotel. The weather was beautiful, got a chance to attend a great charity concert with Spencer Day, and enjoyed the hotel atmosphere. The owner is always very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed sitting out on the top balcony enjoying the evening and beauty of Prescott. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.3 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#10 of 22 in Prescott
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#12 of 22 in Prescott
33 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Property: Hotel Vendome
Address: 230 S Cortez St, Prescott, AZ 86303-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#7 Family Hotel in Prescott
#10 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel built in 1917, the Hotel Vendome still retains much of its original charm. Located in the heart of downtown Prescott a half block from the Courthouse Square with many restaurants, bars, Whiskey Row, galleries and antique shops within walking distance. The hotel has 20 guest rooms with original clawfoot tubs, a wine and beer bar and an area to lounge and take in the beautiful front windows. Complimentary continental breakfast, guest pantry with tea and coffee. Romance/Pamper packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendome Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing