We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a hit or miss....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apple Creek Cottages
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is a hit or miss....”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were greeted by Susan who is very nice, and acommodating. However, when we got to our cottage, it was nothing like the photos online and was very dirty. We were already committed since we went there with several other couples. My husband and I would not stay there again even though the courtyard is charming. I was actually offended when told that if we didn't leave the room in the condition we found it that we would be charged a $35 cleaning fee. I would have gladly paid an extra $35 dollars for a clean room for the weekend. Very disappointing considering there are a number of others who have stayed, and gave it great reviews. Like I said this place is hit (good) or miss (bad).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank None064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    7
    10
    38
See reviews for
46
41
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

From the moment we arrived on a rainy Friday afternoon, we knew we were going to LOVE this place! We were greeted by Susan who runs the place, and she could not have been any sweeter. The entire cottage courtyard was so charming and vintage looking with little seating area's spread out all over to get cozy and romantic in. The rooms were old, but very charming and cabin-like! We brought our dog, Murphy, who really enjoyed himself as well (maybe his favorite weekend ever)! It seemed that almost everyone had dogs there, but none were annoying and they, like all of the other guests, were extremely friendly!
Some of the guests we befriended even shared wine and food with us all as we and our other couple friends played games with drinks out in the courtyard (Thank you Rebecca & Charlie)!
I just can't say enough about this entire experience, we will definitely be back!!!
Thanks Susan!

Jason & Melissa

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is the only one detached, so for sure the best for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3hagedorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

When I first read some of the reviews I honestly felt apprehensive thinking we had made a huge mistake. I'm glad we stuck to our guns and went anyway because we spent two great days at Apple Creek Cottages.
Susan was really sweet and a great hostess, helped with any questions we had and was always available.
We arrived and our cottage had just been mopped, it smelled nice and clean and everything was neat and tidy. Great place to just relax and enjoy some fresh air and the wonderful scent of the pine trees surrounding the cottages......I think the best part is that they are pet friendly so we were able to take our two pugs with us, they loved it too.

It's not the Ritz obviously, it's rustic cottages but we enjoyed everything about it, nothing like waking up to the birds and the sun shining through the trees. The grounds were very well kept and everyone staying at the cottages was super friendly.

We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bourlandcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The location is great, the manager is very nice, but his place is just gross.

Don't be fooled by the name cottages. It's really just a bunch of trailers chopped up into rooms.

NOTHING was clean. Floors were not swept, carpets vacuumed, kitchens, bathroom, living room not clean. Window screens are busted out, and we couldn't even get the door to lock.

Save your money and go someplace else.

Room Tip: Getting the best room is easy. Don't Stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooL9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prescott hotels

arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I love the outdoors and Prescott is the prefect weekend getaway from Phx. I love to stay at the cottages because there is a wonderful green court yard that I can enjoy from my patio or cottage. The cottages are quiet and very comfortable. Also, the location is great near hiking and seconds drive to the town square.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arizonaApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Apple Creek Cottages is a slightly-rustic totally country get-away in a perfect location nestled in the Prescott mountains yet amazingly close to everything the City of Prescott provides. This is a place you can relax with your family and take your pet, enjoy the cool setting and take in the many events of beautiful Prescott. Go during the spring, and enjoy a walk down to the little creeks. Enjoy a wood fire outside under the start, cook out on a gas grill, cook breakfast in your own cabin, or catch one of many close by restaurants. This is a place you'll want to go back to.

Room Tip: Look at the cottages on their web-site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corvette73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Very very very dirty. We were afraid to touch anything. You could hear the dirt on the floor when you walked on it, so we kept our house slippers on at all times and slept in socks. I don't think they ever dusted the place. It reminded us of something out of the Adams Family and we were waiting to see Cousin It. When we took the comfort off of the bed there were only two thin stained sheets (top and bottem) and no blanket. They did smell clean but with the stains we were not sure. I was glad that I brought two comforts, we put one on top of the sheets and used the other one to sleep under. Everything the other people wrote on this review are true. It was horriable and we had booked it for two nights. So for two days we stayed gone and dreaded having to go back and sleep. It was way over priced and we saw the manager only once for about two seconds. When we tried to check out there was no one around and only a note on the door to call a number. Of course there was no answer and we had to leave a message. I think she was afraid to face anyone because of the complaints she would get. Our 35th anniversary was not the romantic getaway we thought it would be. We were in cabin 11 that the manager told us was the "The Honneymoon suite" . What a way to start of a marriage. Scary.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikers85206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
1.3 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines
4.6 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#15 of 22 in Prescott
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
465 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
1.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Creek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Creek Cottages

Property: Apple Creek Cottages
Address: 1001 White Spar Rd, Prescott, AZ 86303-7233
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Creek Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apple Creek Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Creek Cottages Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing