We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH OUR RETURN VISIT”
Review of Bin 239

Bin 239
Ranked #72 of 216 Restaurants in Prescott
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WORTH OUR RETURN VISIT”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Several months ago, we were in Prescott for a seminar. After the first night, we went to Bin 239 for a glass of wine. This was our first visit. We looked at the menu, but, since we had already eaten, stuck to a glass of wine. We had a very nice conversation with the owner, and vowed to return. The opportunity arose last weekend. We stopped in to re-examine the menu and determine a good time to return without a reservation. The owner sat with us and encouraged us to return. After walking around Prescott for several hours, we returned for dinner. First of all, the wine list at this restaurant is amazing. This is the only restaurant outside of Washington that has Leonetti on its wine list. Add Opus One and George Latour Private Reserve and you have a mighty impressive list. And these aren't even the most expensive wines on the list. But for those who don't routinely drop $100 for a bottle of wine (that would include us), there is an extensive list of reasonably priced wines by the glass or bottle. We ordered a bottle of wine and ordered bruschetta. The bruschetta comes with several options and you can pick up to four different varieties for each order. Given our past experience with bruschetta elsewhere, we stuck with two varieties to make sure we'd each get a taste. Well, this is not normal bruschetta. The four pieces are really eight and we could have easily tried four varieties and gotten a good taste of each. Note for our next visit. After the bruschetta we ordered the scallop and shrimp entree (we share). Excellent choice. We rarely order dessert (my husband likes two things--carrot cake and key lime pie). We ordered the carrot cake. It came as a small bundt cake with a dollop of what looked like ice cream on top. My husband doesn't like ice cream (go figure), so he immediately shoved the dollop off the top. I tried the cake with a bit of dollop, which turned out to be cream cheese frosting. With that bit of knowledge, my husband took a bite and we immediately finished off the dessert. Throughout the course of our meal, the owner continually checked on us to see how we were doing.

A few other observations about this restaurant. This is definitely a restaurant frequented by locals. Nearly everyone who walked in knew the owner,and she knew them. Frequently, she even knew what they ordered--both food and beverage. If the locals support a restaurant, that's usually a good sign. In this case, it genuinely is. We've already made plans to return in December.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    20
    19
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped by for lunch last Saturday and had an excellent chopped salad and tuna with artichoke pannini. Have been there for dinner a few years ago and enjoyed that also

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mimiflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A homey, cozy, but pricey restaurant”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What looks like a remodeled home, Bin 239 is located at 239 N. Marina Street, in Prescott, AZ. They offer appetizers, bruschetta, salads, sandwiches, and they are known for their wood-fired pizzas. We had a pesto chicken pizza that provided an ample amount for both of us for $15.

The coziness of this restaurant is in the decorations, the leather overstuffed chairs, and that you can huddle around a fireplace in the wintertime and enjoy a nice glass of wine. We found the wine to be very expensive, even though there are excellent wines offered, and of great variety. Their website is www.bin239.com.

Our server was very busy, and our drinks (soda, water, tea) did not get refilled until after our meal. She apologized, but she was serving, seating people, and on a rather busy evening, she was stretched too thin.

The food was great; the pizza was very tasty, and the crust was perfect. Our beverages were served in funky glasses, that looked like they were rejects from a glass blower, like they were going to tip over. It was kind of different and fun.

I would recommend this place, but be prepared to shell out some dollars if you want a nice bottle of wine and a great meal. Check out their website first!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emdicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Unfortunately our experience was disappointing. We arrived on a Friday night and were seated quickly, a good start we thought. The decor was right on target for a wine restaurant, but that unfortunately was about it. We were looking forward to some wine tasting, but were informed that they only do that Monday through Friday. My mistake for not noting this on their website, but being a wine restaurant, I never imagined this would be a problem. So one of my guests asked for a wine recommendation and was met with an uninformed waitress -- again, in a wine restaurant?? Next we ordered apps. Service was very slow. We sat around watching people around us who came in later than us being served. One of the appetizers arrived, the other did not. We were more than halfway through our app before the other guest received theirs. We were excited about the Bruschetta, but it fell short. The Marinated Artichoke was a very thin spread across a piece of bread. The Caramelized Onion and Feta looked good but was lacking any flavor. We were also surprised that the Bruschetta was not toasted. The steamed clams were flavorful but a little too salty. Next, we ordered off of the "Food" menu because the "Evening Faire" menu was outrageously expensive. We ordered two Wood-Fired Pizzas which thankfully arrived together. North Beach was good but only contained about one or two Kalamata Olives per slice -- would have expected a little more. Spartacus was also pretty good. We ended it there. Unfortunately we thought it to be overpriced for the quality of food that was served. A real let down.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best restaurant in Arizona”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We sat in outside patio, it was decorated so quaint. The service was excellent, food excellent and ordered dessert later from our hotel, Springhill Suites. I love how the waitress didn't bug us about ordering right away. We took our time eating our salads and then ordered dinner. Had the best homemade Sangria drink, very reasonably priced

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bin 239 also viewed

 

Been to Bin 239? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing