We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, "Fine Dining!"”
Review of The Rose Restaurant - CLOSED

The Rose Restaurant
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful, "Fine Dining!"”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I ate here last year on the 4th of July (I've since moved to Show Low.) It is a wonderful old western-style house with tree-shaded tables in the yard and on the expansive porch (where I sat.) While I was there they had a keyboardist near me playing soft background music that was very soothing and greatly added to the pleasure of the meal.

This is truly fine dining for this area. It is not cheap, but for the quality of the food one receives, it is reasonable - at least for special occasions. ;)

Even though it was a busy holiday, I was immediately seated at 5PM and the entire service was friendly, attentive and efficient.

I had the steak Diane and it was wonderful. The salad, potatoes and mixed vegetables that came with it were fresh and flavorful.

They have a very nice wine selection to go with any meal.

For those celebrating a special occasion - or just looking for a truly fine dining experience in Prescott - look no further than "The Rose."

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    9
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

right off whiskey row, great food, polite fast friendly staff, clean! menu has a variety have house specials to choose from.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best food in town”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

For the second year in a row on the eve of 4th of July and the fourth time over the past couple of years, my wife and I enjoyed a fabulous dinner at The Rose restaurant. Upon arrival we were greeted very warmly by the owner after which she offered to let us chose our seating from the remaining tables avaiable outside on the front porch. Once seated she then stopped by our table to explained the highlights of the menu and our service for the evening before turning us over to the waiter who provided exceptional service.

Throughout our meal, the owner stopped by multiple times to see how things were going and even shared her process on how to make their extraordinary popovers. The size of of both of our meals was just about perfect and the price for a meal of this quality was right in line with where it should be. Both meals came with potato and vegetable which each of us up so we split a delicous creme brulee with choclate bits for desert.

If you are looking for a huge meal at a bargain price the Rose is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you are looking for exceptional service and meals that are just about the perfect size for normal adults along with the best food in town, there is nothing that comes even close to the Rose. Both of our meals were scrumptious, we both walked away comfortably full but not over stuffed and felt that we received great value for a delightful and romantic dinner. It doesn't get any better than that anywhere in Prescott!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Prescott”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We just finished another amazing dinner at the Rose and wonder why this place is not full every night. There is no place like this in Prescott with outdoor seating and food that is much better than any place else in town. From the delicious popovers to the filet, it never misses. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drw0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful, intimate dinner”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant is in a very small house downtown. The food is fantastic. All cooked on the premises by Ron, including fresh popovers! The service is very good, wine excellent. We had the pork chops and the veal scallopine and both were very good. We then had the ooey gooey pie which was amazing!! The staff is very attentive and very welcoming.
We sat by the window under the fan which was very nice. We will definitely go back.
My only complaint would be that the waiter, Jessie, smelled like cigarette smoke which is not appetizing. He needs to ditch the cigarettes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing