We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pasta”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gurley St. Grill

Gurley St. Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Gurley St. Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 214 Restaurants in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Pasta”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The pasta dishes were good, for a bar type restaurant. The atmosphere was pretty quiet. The music made me want to fall asleep, although it may have just been a slow night. (Sat night?) Drinks were strong.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    128
    41
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Consistently very good!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

In trying to find a good restaurant that we can re-visit each time we come to Prescott with guests, we have found the Gurley Street Grill to be the one! The food is always fresh and appetizing, and this past time the hostess even came over to say that the lack of sauerkraut our guest was mentioning could indeed be had with the Reuben instead of the coleslaw listed on the menu. That was very sweet and above and beyond the call of duty!
The menu is varied, and there seems to be something for everyone!
Now if they could turn down the temperature a little so that our food doesn't get cold before we are finished dining!

Helpful?
1 Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Located a half block off of Prescott's infamous Whiskey Row, the Gurley St. Grill (www.gurleystreetgrill.com) sports a lot of history within its walls. It rose from the ashes of the wood frame structure called Mulvernon Saloon, which was destroyed in the great fire of 1900. Much of the brick used to rebuild the present-day structure was salvaged from the rubble, and you can still see the soot-blackened bricks throughout the restaurant.

We were greeted with a very pleasant host, who also was our server. They have appetizers including lettuce wraps, calamari and beer battered onion rings. We opted to save our appetites for their pasta offerings. They have soup, salads, sandwiches, pasta, burgers and comfort food, which includes pot pies, fish and chips, and pepperoni pizza.

My husband ordered Marco Polo, which was a grilled chicken breast, broccoli, red onion and tomatoes sauteed in scampi butter and wine sauce, garnished with feta cheese and served with mostaccioli pasta. I had the Beef Stroganoff, which included beef tenderloin, mushrooms, and fettuccini pasta. Both were absolutely awesome, and very ample portions. If we weren't visiting, we would have taken half of our portions home with us.

We ordered Pinot Grigio wine prior to dinner, and the server came with some delicious warm garlic bread. The meal couldn't have been better. The decorations are very cool to walk around the restaurant and look at. The large framed artwork by our table included advertising for the Whiskey Row Marathon from 2009, and pictured a cowboy holding tennis shoes.

After the rather heavy meal, I would suggest, if you can, to walk around Whiskey Row and the "Square" in the center of town and burn off some of that meal. Prescott is a wonderful city to visit, and you really feel the "small town" atmosphere with people walking their dogs in the square, and small concerts taking place there during the summer.

I would whole-heartedly recommend this restaurant, and I plan to keep their menu as a memento to refer to for the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emdicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cold brie”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I ordered the warm brie. The portion of brie was large but had to order double the amount of bread. The crostini was saturated with oil and the middle of the brie was cool.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderOff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good food, very good service.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food was very good. My wife loved her Salmon, and I loved my steak. It was actually an upgrade that the server recommended, as they had one left. Because we were delayed by a freeway closure, I was worried that the place would be full and we would have to wait, but that wasn't the case and we were seated right away. Service was fast as well. We had eaten lunch at this location a long time ago, but this was a first time for dinner. Probably won't be the last time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glw1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurley St. Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gurley St. Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing