We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - service could be better”
Review of Dinner Bell Cafe

Dinner Bell Cafe
Ranked #2 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
“Good food - service could be better”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Dinner Bell Cafe is home to some pretty good eatin'; unfortunately, it's also home to a staff of sour-faced, grumpy women. Even the "original Bell", the owner, whose photograph is proudly displayed on the wall, treats her customers with blank stares while ignoring people who have been sitting at the counter waiting for service (she is continually pacing behind the counter, so I don't see the reason for this). Some customers are immediately greeted, but others are completely ignored for 5-10 minutes (not even a "hello"). The only smile I've seen from the staff during my first and last visit was limited to the Western photographs on the wall. I pass - there are places with good food AND good service, dear bells!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    94
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great 'ol town cafe”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A very small place with Big portion breakfasts cooked the way grandma made 'em with huge biscuits (go for a walk afer to work it off... a long walk). Service was fairly friendly and food was good. Seemed like a popular local spot. The movie, "The Getaway" with Alec Baldwin and Kim Basinger had a scene filmed in the diner...take cash - no cards here. Street parking. Around the corner from Whiskey Row.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ponch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner Bell not opened for dinner”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We thought by the name, we'd have dinner there, or at least a late lunch. But, ironically, the "Dinner Bell" Cafe is NOT open for dinner. It closes at 2pm, and is open for breakfast and lunch. So, it's possible that it has great food and service, but I couldn't pass up the opportunity to tell them that they need to change their name. How about the "Wake up and Smell the Coffee Cafe" or the "Lunchbox Cafe". On the frontier, "dinner" might be late afternoon, but these hours don't cut it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geo_phx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A favorite breakfast spot”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have enjoyed breakfast here on many occasions. The food and service is consistent and good. As others have noted there is are front and back sections with separate entrances. The front has an old time diner ambiance while the back has more of a funky atmosphere. We enjoy both depending on what mood we're in. I almost always order the southwest omelette with country potatoes and the portion is large enough that sometimes we split this depending on our appetites. The homemade salsa is almost always very good. Can't comment on lunch. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peripateti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Took me back in time”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Sat at the counter with a big glass of iced tea. Eggs, hash browns and a big piece of toast slathered in butter. Friendly staff and food came out fast. If I lived in Prescott I could see myself becoming a regular...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinner Bell Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dinner Bell Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing