We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and a great atmosphere!”

Taj Mahal Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #23 of 222 Restaurants in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
“Wonderful food and a great atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Patio on the weekends is great. Music and great people to meet and the atmosphere is wonderful. Owner is very friendly and personable. Really love the food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taptout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    107
    48
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent indian food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had the lunch buffet, which was excellent. good tandoori chicken, other dishes fine. Very nicely spiced, for my taste. Garlic naan bread wonderful. Service very attentive. it was a pleasant surprise to find this restaurant in an out of the way place. Everyone in our party really liked it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Taj Mahal Is No Grand Scene”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First off, as a foodie and good cook, I don't put a lot of stock in the majority reviewers of eateries (or recipes) for the very reason seen here: glowing reviews undeservedly.

I've dined on Indian cuisine in many places, including overseas. This place sucks. The portions are small. Curry in a small bowl a meal make? Really? Every Indian eatery I've been to, the portion sizes were ample, if not more than ample!

And the nan that comes *with* the meal at other places is a separate dish and cost.

Taj Mahal is ridiculously overpriced -- not only their foods but the drinks. A bottle of Indian beer was like $7. Sure, it's an import, allegedly, but you'd get better value sticking with water and picking a 6-pack up at the nearby market after dinner! If you insist on drinking, try to get there during happy hour to avoid sticker shock.

Most people I know think that just because they're eating "foreign" cuisine it's (a) good or (b) cool. And thus they become willing to pay outrageous prices for fare. You'd do better getting pouches of Indian curries at Trader Joe's for 1/6th the price. So sad when reviewers heap praises on places undeservedly (and there's a lot of that here).

Best I can suggest if you choose to believe 'em is take a load of cash or a credit card that's not inches from being maxed out and see for yourself. Then go anywhere else for half the price and twice the food and better bar prices (i.e. Prescott Brewery Company around the corner). You'll come to see that TM is no deal. Maybe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the few places to get Indian cuisine, and it is very good.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have had some amazing Indian food in my lifetime, from several different countries, so, although I am not an expert, I know what it should taste like. Since there are not many choices of places to get Indian food here, I am very happy that the Taj Mahal Restaurant does a more than decent job on the food. We usually go to the buffet, so we can get different items, and so far, it has all been very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanisB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Touch of the Old Country”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is one of the best, if not THE best restaurants in Prescott.
Its food is a well-spiced, excellent representation of Indian cuisine.

Period.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happytravel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Taj Mahal Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing