We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous and delicious food!”

Taj Mahal Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #23 of 226 Restaurants in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The food is so good! The menu is very extensive even goat curry (quite tasty). The service got a bit confused (two guys who overlapped what they did and maybe didn't communicate?). The owner/manager (?) was very gracious, fixed things immediately and did not charge us for dessert. We are eating Indian food for breakfast (ordered to go)! This place is wonderful; would absolutely return if we ever get back to Prescott. Don't miss!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JLJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 676 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We chose "hot" as there were 2 even hotter choices, but we found it too hot- it needed a raita to cool it. We went for dinner and thought it was pricey for an Indian restaurant, with extra charges for pappadums and rice. The entrees were good, but
the service was a bit slow, our waiter more interested in chatting up some of the younger diners.

Thank ElizabethRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our favorite place to eat in Prescott, Taj Mahal has *THE* best meat samosas ever!!! Gil, one of the owners is very friendly and always greets us with a booming "hello!" The service is great, but the food is why we go!

We always order the samosas, and sometimes make a meal of just them, with a good beer or glass of wine. My favorite chutney that comes with the samosas is the pumpkin (we always order extra so my husband and I don't fight over who gets the last bit), but the tamarind is good too.

It's either chicken tiki masala or curry, as the main dish for us ... And, if you like it *spicy hot* you can choose up to 5 different levels of heat! This is the place to go when you're in the mood for Indian; just can't be beat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juneanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Loved the musician, and the food was pretty tasty. But I thought it was a bit pricy for what you get. Our server was a sour puss, and not very friendly at all. Poor thing seemed depressed, and sad as can be. We came in with a good mood, but he didnt catch on.

Thank artqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Terrible service...we had to wait 40 minutes to order, and another 40 minutes for the food, which was bland and tasteless. Then I literally had to track down the owner to get a check because our waiter never checked back on us. Never again!!!
Prescott Local

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajmahalprescottaz, Manager at Taj Mahal Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Mike T.,
You came to our place I believe on Labor Day weekend, and yes it was indeed so crazy!!! Although we were incredibly busy and broke record sales which should of made us happy, we really were not. We had employees call out, we had new employees, and flow to much to handle.
As much as I told our hostess not seat anymore tables and have a 1 hour wait, she did not follow and so therefore had tables be sat with no servers (had not enough for that night, horrible) and yes everyone that night waited 40 for a server to come to a table. And of course kitchen was backed up too. I am sorry, we are sorry.
I hope you can come back give us another chance because after 1 hour and 20 min to get your dinner, how could you have enjoyed the wonderful flavors of our Indian Cuisine.
Thank you for your time to read this, and please just one more try!

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Taj Mahal Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing