We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chickened out :(”
Review of Devil's Pantry

Devil's Pantry
Ranked #64 of 218 Restaurants in Prescott
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Description: Located on Historic Whiskey Row, in Beautiful Prescott Arizona, Owners Amy and Dave Seigler bring together the BEST food and beverages you'd find at the State Fair and your local micro Brewery. Fast, Fresh, Friendly, take your food across the street and picnic at the "Square" or dine in the casual "help yourself" environment. Menu ranges fro $0-$10- and includes unique items and those we all crave such as Deep Fried Twinkies, bacon wrapped corn dogs, fish and chips, Dip-n-Dots Ice Cream and hand crafted beer. You should see the "Loaded Lord of the Fries" Menu!
Prescott, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chickened out :(”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Tried the chicken strips basket last night and they are actually patties,not strips. You get 2 and both were over cooked and very dry and chewy...not a recommendation if you have soft teeth or dentures. No flavor-VERY disappointing! The fries are buried under the chicken and were soggy and pretty bland. Also had a corn dog and the batter was a tad soggy and almost cake like as opposed to fried and crispy, have actually had better from the frozen section of the grocery store. Have to admit though that the coconut shrimp was tasty and fried to perfection. We have only ordered dinner from here and still have yet to find many items we prefer, maybe we should switch to just desserts as those seem to get rave reviews. The owner is always thorough, friendly and hands on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not worth the stop”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

i was looking for something close to the courthouse as i was on break from jury selection and this place wasnt crowded and looked clean. so, i went in and began looking at their menu that was located on the opposite wall of their register counter. when i asked the young lady at the register if anything came with the hot dogs... she stated you can get... but that will be extra. when asked if the hot dogs were large, she stated you can get a large. now, to me, that didnt really answer either question i had asked. the first answer should have been... no, but you can... and the second should have described the sizes of the hot dogs. well, i continued to order dispite being a bit preturbed and started to hand the young lady my debit card... she proceeded to tell me they only took cash. but, there is an atm right beside the counter. so, not only did my chili dog and fries cost $10 + it also cost the charge to use the atm. the food was not worth the time, frustration and money. wont go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank duchess1mill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Greasy Treats”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped in for a quick bite since we had a coupon and got some BLT sandwiches which came with a basket of fries. The sandwich was on white toasted bread, with iceberg lettuce and some sauce which we could not taste. The fries were good but so greasy that we kept tasting them all night. We don't eat much greasy food so I guess this place was a bad choice on our part. If you like greasy American fried food, you might enjoy it. Have to give the place credit for trying when there are about fifty great restaurants surrounding their little diner. We would not recommend for that reason.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TucsonDaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Devil's Pantry, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are very sorry your visit was less than wonderful. As you may notice, many patrons have found the reverse- as the Owner, I am usually on the premises available to hear your concerns- so I can repair the problem- both for you -the customer, and internally as well. Please feel free to ask to see the owner anytime you venture back this way- We would love the chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Az
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall gem of Prescott”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My kids and I love this place. It's bright, cheery and clean on the inside. Dave the owner is friendly and checks on you while you're dining. Misty (manager?) is an absolute firecracker. She knows her customers, and keeps the environment lively and conversational. We felt at home here the first time we walked in the door. Now we come at least every other week to chow. Don't miss the Carmel Apple Fries, and the Chicken Strip Basket is a thinly breaded, crispy, herby, crunchy dish of heaven. The chocolate covered bacon is a guilty must, the chili was awesome on a cold winter day, and if you're not sure what you want, just ask, and they'll be happy to give you ideas with a wink and a smile. Sure some local kids hang out here from time to time. Why not? It's a safe and comforting atmosphere and it's a heck of a lot better than huddled together smoking weed on the Square.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FireWindRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The whole family LOVED it!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've been to Devil's Pantry twice on weekend trips to Prescott. We have two boys aged 10 and 8. They wanted to eat there again when we visited most recently. Everything was great but our two favorite things were the chicken strips which are thin and wonderfully seasoned and the fries with brown gravy. Seriously, we wanted to drink the gravy! It was a fun, delicious experience. The owner came by and talked to us for a bit. Very friendly. The only negative I can say is that it tends to get a little warm in there, but what do you expect from the Devil's Pantry? :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank REIMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Pantry also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing