We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our new favorite place in prescott”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prescott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gurley Street Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Prescott B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Mark is a great host and cook! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. My only recommendation would be some comfy couches and chairs in the lodge living room. A perfect place to get away for anyone who needs to unplug from the real world!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lwkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

At the last minute, my wife and I decided to get away for a weekend in Prescott. We picked the Gurley Street Lodge based on the VR tour on the website and all of the positive reviews. Fortunately, there was one room left in the lodge, and we had a wonderful weekend! The lodge was quiet, cozy and comfortable and just a few minutes from the courthouse square. Mark was a very gracious host and fixed us two of the best breakfasts we've had in a long time. Our room, the San Carlos room, was downstairs with a private patio where I read under the morning sunshine. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean, and everything we needed was there. The overall value was excellent, considering a standard hotel room would have cost roughly the same. Do yourself a favor - call Mark and spend a weekend relaxing in Prescott at his lodge. We can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Both rooms downstairs have nice patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We decided to travel to Prescott for our annual Kid-Free Weekend. We've never stayed at a bed and breakfast, but decided to give one a try. We are so delighted that we found the Gurley Street Lodge. It's just about a mile up the road from the Courthouse Square, but once you're on the property you'd never know you were still so near everything. We pulled in and immediately felt like we were out in the woods. The property is so well maintained with beautiful landscaping and huge trees. Mark took special care to walk us over to the bungalow upon our arrival and took time to show us all the features it had to offer. We especially enjoyed spending time inside by the fireplace and outside on our private patio. Despite all of this, I'd have to say that the best part of our stay was breakfast in the mornings. Mark made such amazing dishes for us and was such lovely company. He was so well informed of the area and pointed out a favorite walking path around the historic neighborhood, as well as some great locations for antique hunting. It's not only a convenient location in Prescott, but we also found it to be a great base for a day trip to Jerome and old town Cottonwood. We've now found our favorite place to stay whenever we head north to Prescott, and we can't wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azgeofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

A wonderful find with a gracious host. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with masses of space and good storage areas. The fireplace was a great bonus as the evenings were becoming cool. The Lodge is quaint and homey feeling but with all useful travel necessities and lovely decor. Mark's breakfasts were excellent and he was fun and helpful. good base for Prescott and the wonderful Granite Dells.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedBHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

As someone with allergies and chemical sensitivities I was quite comfortable in the cabin. My daughter and I enjoyed having a kitchen and outdoor barbecue. It was close to downtown and to outlying areas great for walking. Mark provided wonderful breakfasts tailored to my special needs. The lodge has lovely artwork, creative and pleasant outdoor areas, and great service. We want to return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nena47Gila_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Lodge Room and had a wonderful time. The lodge is beautiful - Mark's hard work and pride in his property are very evident. He's the most kind and gracious host, very friendly and welcoming, not to mention a fantastic cook!! I was worried about not having a TV in the room, but we brought our dvd player and watched a movie each evening with the fire roaring. The room also had its own private patio that we enjoyed each day and we met some great folks who were also staying at the lodge. We're going to try the cottage the next time we stay. If you're looking for a comfortable, clean, and relaxing place to stay in Prescott with beautiful surroundings, THIS IS IT!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melendezlv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

to top it off my girlfriend wanted to sleep in so mark cooked and brought her meal over for her. french toast and ham . mmmm


i really like this, the climate and town are ideal and great hiking up the hill at thumb butte for me and the dog...

spend a little less and stay on the highway on the more industrial side of prescott in a hotel, and then pay 30 for breakfast, or stay here and get breakfast and pay the same overall... seriously a no brainer when you can have space to chill outside on the porch and enjoy the pines instead of watching people change tires at a motel.

put it this way, i have NEVER EVER written a review for a place and i made a point of coming on here to let you know how sweet this is. this was the best spot we stayed at so far and i have drivin from LA to NY city and on the way home goin thru the rockies or i would go back here again
1

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufuslord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#8 of 22 in Prescott
836 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#11 of 22 in Prescott
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#10 of 22 in Prescott
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurley Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurley Street Lodge

Address: 909 W Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86305-2873
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Prescott
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing