We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bike/ hiking trail for the non-x games types.”

Prescott Peavine National Recreation Trail
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great bike/ hiking trail for the non-x games types.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I did this ride round trip as our first "off road" ride. The grade is mild, the surface one step below paved, and the scenery is beautiful. We started out a bit late for early August and did not take enough water but that was our poor planning not the trail. Like many comments here, the first mile is uninspired as it runs parallel a waste/recycling operation. This goes by quickly as it transforms into a stunning landscape of granite formations, placid lake scenes, and open vistas. Definitely a trip to repeat with plenty of water and a camera.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnRofAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    24
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wytheville, Va.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trail, but loved for it to be longer”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had a little trouble finding the northern end. Being from the east coast, the terrain and plant life was different and a treat. I came to ride it because I was trying to ride all the Hall of Fame Trails. I hope to return next year to spend more time on some of the other trails.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“R and R on an easy grade.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hike along an old rail bed. Walked through a tree tunnel, skirted by the Granite Dell's near Watson lake, and even heard the geese honking. Though the beginning of the hike passes by the city services yard, you will barely notice it since the riparian area on the other side of the trail will keep your head turning to see the natural surroundings. By the way, parking is free on Wednesdays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hiking the lake”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Peavine National Recreation Trail is a lovely hike. The trail is well maintained, and travels along lakes and boulders. I used to walk dogs for the Yavapai Humane Society on Peavine Trail. However, the trail is clean and dogs are on leashes. Part of the trail follows the route of railroad tracks that brought trains to Prescott from Flagstaff to Phoenix. There are wonderful wild bushes and flowers, as well as lots of frogs and dragon flies in season. The trail does go along Watson Lake, however the lake is not as full of water as it used to be. And it courses along the boulders of the Prescott Dells. Still the hike is easy and comfortable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for the whole family”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Level enough for the grand-kids, long enough for runners and joggers, hills towards Prescott Valley and then there is the lake. Geocaching now as well. Good place to ride a bicycle as well as hike and jig. Rest rooms are a plus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhitman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prescott Peavine National Recreation Trail also viewed

 

Been to Prescott Peavine National Recreation Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing