We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Zoo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Park Zoo

Heritage Park Zoo
Ranked #8 of 68 things to do in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Heritage Park Zoological Sanctuary is a non-profit wildlife sanctuary, dedicated to the conservation and protection of native and exotic animals. Located in scenic Prescott, Arizona, the sanctuary provides a source of recreation, education and entertainment for all ages. With the mission of "Conservation through Education," Heritage Park Zoological Sanctuary provides a unique and up-close experience with animals visitors may see nowhere else. Animals at Heritage Park Zoological Sanctuary all have a story to tell and lesson to teach. We currently house more than 200 animals on our grounds - among them a Bengal Tiger, two Black Bears, two Clouded Leopard siblings, Mexican Gray Wolves, Bobcats, Lynx, Lemurs, various reptiles, and one of the largest tarantula displays in the Southwest.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice sized local zoo that is clean and well-maintained. Animals include many of the local species in exhibits that are easy to view. The kids will love it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    71
    20
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to get out of the Phoenix heat so we spent a weekend in the Prescott area. We took our 9 month old to this zoo. It's small but the enclosures were easy for our son to see into from his stroller. I've never been so close to a bear! They have a nice play ground and grassy area for kids to run around. Our little guy liked the splash pad. If you're in the area it's worth a stop to check out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeaverB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Little Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took our grandchildren here (5 and 2 years old) and were pleasantly surprised with the grounds, animals and friendly docents. Later we were back for a Bar Mitzah celebration and enjoyed the zoo again. This is a gem and I would recommend this activity to all age groups.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Apricot_Alma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This intimate zoo is really a rescue facility. I highly recommend it for families with kids in strollers. Most of the paths are unshaded so visitors need protection. The entrance fee can be prohibitive but all proceeds are for the rescue and care of the animals and has narrowly excaped being closed down--a good enough reason to patronize it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZamGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When we first moved here we had to go.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Coming from San Diego where we had the Zoo in Balboa Park this zoo was very small but none the less interesting. Good for a smaller venue.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0b_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing