We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Rock Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point of Rocks Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prescott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point of Rocks Campground
Save
You added Point of Rocks Campground to your Saves list
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unique Rock Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here in the early 80's in a VW van and remembered how pretty it was so we decided to go back on our drive through Prescott. We were lucky to get a site as it was the week the Federal Government closed down and all the National Parks/Camps were closed so everyone was looking for an available campsite. The man in the office is the son of the original owner/developer of the campground and he was very kind and helpful. The place was packed but still very quiet. During our walk with the dogs a camper offered them hamburger patties which was quite the treat. Today there are more sites and they have electric hookups. Depending on how close you are to the office, you can also get free internet. If you are too far away you can sit in the office or outside at the tables and access the internet. The grounds were very well maintained. The restrooms were not modern but absolutely spotless. It is a very unique campground with all the red rock formations and one of the prettiest we've been to. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3dogmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed @ Point of Rocks in December 2013 and found the resort clean and friendly. Stayed over a weekend for 3 days and paid 28.88 per night with full hook-ups minus cable.

We had excellent ATT wireless phone service. The front office was pleasant and the rest rooms were spotless!

Large pull through and 50 amp service was available. Near by hiking and rock climbing.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a unique, old style campground. Park was very quiet, clean, included scenic trails, and is conveniently located near the heart of Prescott. Some of the trails take you to Watson Lake and Willow Lake. It’s a small drive to the historic Prescott's Whiskey Row, where many shops and restaurants are available. Our site was surrounded by trees, rocks, and bushes. Roads and sites are unpaved, just dirt. Park includes both back-in and pull-through sites. The staff was very friendly. As always, we travel to other campgrounds when visiting a new location. We determined this was the best campground in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheHappyCampers227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We camped here on a three day weekend in our new Airstream. Good hookups. Plenty of hiking opportunities in and around the beautiful lake.
There's no pavement so things can get pretty dusty, but most residents are considerate and drive slowly.
We paid $28 a night with Good Sam membership. Not a bad deal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAndBenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed here on numerous occasions over the past 7 years when visiting Prescott. The sites have a decent amount of space between them with many having trees and natural vegetation between them to give some privacy. Many sites back up to the granite rocks. You can walk to Watson lake easily and there are hiking paths there as well as boat rental during the summer. The showers are clean and heated. One downside is the roads are not paved and it can be dusty. There are quite a few permanent residents but they generally have nice RVs and maintain clean, well kept lots. In fact we inquired once about a monthly or longer stay and there are strict requirements including no older RVs. Will definitely return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank PeripateticEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTTSDALE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Interesting rock formations to climb in great Prescott location. Only 5 or so lots with 50 amps and dusty when rigs drive by, but has very nice restrooms/showers near lot 81. Very nice in 2 visits. Owner and son, I think, were very pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DENNIS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Springs, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have stayed here several times and will probably go back. We are retired, on the road for several months at a time, and drive a 30' Class A motorhome. Our priorities are: large, spacious sites, trees or other barriers for privacy, and natural beauty for the surroundings. Point of Rocks has all three. There are even some nice view sites, although we like to back up to those beautiful rocky cliffs. Even though the park is almost full, there is no feeling of crowding. Quail run like chickens through the campground and squirrels play in the trees (scrub oaks, small pines, juniper, desert willow.) There are hiking trails in and near the park. The restrooms, showers, and laundry are adequate and spotlessly clean. The office staff have been particularly nice and helpful. Although the campground wi-fi is only available near the office, the Verizon signal is strong and our Verizon mi-fi works just fine. TV reception by antenna (from Phoenix, I think) is excellent, although channels are limited. the camp sites on the upper level are, I think, the nicer ones. We recommend this to our friends who are coming this way!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coral B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#7 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines
3.5 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#16 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of Rocks Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of Rocks Campground

Property: Point of Rocks Campground
Address: 3025 N. Highway 89, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Prescott
Number of rooms: 96

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing