We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept Historic Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Michael

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Michael
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best kept Historic Gem”
Reviewed November 4, 2004

Well I am new to the Trip advisor but I had to tell you all about one of Northern Arizona's best kept secret. Hotel St. Michael in Prescott Arizona(locals call it Preskit). My husband and I were doing our annual road trip and this year it was Arizona. Ok so the Hotel St. Micael is right down town over looking the courthouse square very quaint! The building is full of architectural wonders, gargoyles stare down at you. The rooms are wonderfully eclectic but warm and clean. Long cheery hallways, a really old but fun elevator, A Grand stairway, a beautiful lobby where you can meet the local people. When you stay you get a wonderful full cooked breakfast in the charming Caffe. The food was great and the bread was home baked. I fell in love with Prescott, the people, the staff, the town. The best kept secret in Prescott is the Hotel St. Michael.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    97
    38
    22
    28
See reviews for
51
129
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2004

I like the location of the hotel, but the staff seems to think they are above the customer simply because they work on Whiskey Row. They need to have a long sit-down with managment and realize there are too many other places to stay in the area for them to be snobby and rude to "guests." They especialy have an attitude toward "Valley" residents. (People from Phoenix getting away for the weekend). This is especialy pathetic when one realizes that most "Prescottonians" are from California. Next time I'll stay at a hotel where the staff appreciates me.

Helpful?
11 Thank MarkPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 28, 2004

We love the Hotel St. Michael! It says "EXPERIENCE HISTORY" and thats just what happened. As most of the industry struggles to keep up with the demands of an ever increasing fussy public the Hotel St. Michael lets its guests feel what it was like in an era when people in the service industry enjoyed what they were doing. The whole place feels like a proud survivor from a time when one depended on whit and character instead of complaints and lawyers. We felt like we were a part of the Prescott community just because we stayed on Whiskey Row and got to talk with many of the locals. If your going to Prescott we suggest you try the St. Michael, its no frill all real !

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2004

Don't know what all the hype is about. The lobby is gorgeous, yes, but that's about it.

The room we were in had peeling, faded wallpaper, the carpet was filthy, the bedspreads were soiled, upon inspection the bottom/sides of the boxsprings were shredded and hanging down onto the floor, the beds were horribly uncomfortable, the window a/c unit was loud and the bathroom was tiny.

Beware! The place is filthy!

I was extremely disappointed. Please don't think I was expecting the Waldorf-Astoria - I was at least expecting the same quality as the Days Inn I had stayed in in Flagstaff, Arizona.

Helpful?
8 Thank CSIMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2004

Wonderful hotel with efficient staff, great food and unique atmosphere. Had a really nice stay at the hotel and will return again in the future. Also, great rates.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jdudewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2004

I've stayed here a few times, and I love historic hotels, but I really can't recommend it. For the price, we decided we'd rather stay somewhere with an air-conditioner that was adequate for the size of the room it was trying to cool (a problem all three times we've stayed there) and a little more room in our room. Because it's charming and old, we've given it more tries than we normally would for as inconvenient as it is, but this year we gave up and stayed elsewhere.

Helpful?
8 Thank RubyMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 26, 2004

My wife and I had a weekend to Prescott to get away from Phoenix. We originally booked another hotel but were very disappointed with it and canceled after we saw our room.

In a desperate attempt to find a hotel, we stumbled on the Hotel Saint Michael and we are so glad that we did. It was a fantastic stay. They have done a marvelous job at preserving it's historic beauty and charm. And the hospitality is great! They even payed for a parking ticket since you cannot park in front of the courthouse from 2-5 am! What a hotel! It's definately our Prescott favorite! Great price and great experience!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
742 reviews
3.8 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#15 of 22 in Prescott
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michael

Property: Hotel St. Michael
Address: 205 W Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3611
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Michael 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prescott's Historic Urban Hotel !!! We're located in the heart of Downtown Prescott offering Western Hospitality with Historic Ambiance. Enjoy comfortable lodging and modern amenities at the center of Prescott's Attractions !!! Experience Prescott !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michael
St Michael Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing