We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Michael

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Michael
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I visited Prescott for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We wanted to stay in a historic hotel on Gurley Street so we picked the Hotel St. Michael. The hotel is very cute, quaint and historic. The outside of the hotel is beautiful with the old brick. We received a room on the second floor with our window facing Gurley Street. This was an issue for us as it was very noisy...not necessarily traffic noisy as much as it was people noisy. There was a bar/pub right across the street from our room so it was noisy all hours of the day and night. The room was...well, historic. TV was outdated (not that we used it much), carpet was old, furnishings were old and the bathroom reminded me of an old mobile home bathroom. Just enough room for one person. I knew this place was outdated when I noticed an electrical outlet attached to the light fixture in the bathroom. Our overall stay here was nice and the staff were all extremely friendly. If you're looking for historic, this is it! It was by no means the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in but if you're looking for a historic visit to a hotel, I would pick this one. Maybe request a room away from Gurley Street or Whiskey Row if you're looking for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    85
    35
    21
    27
See reviews for
42
108
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The only place I would stay while visiting Prescott. Love this historic hotel in downtown Prescott,like the rooms that face the plaza as we like to be in the center of the action on Whiskey Row. The rooms are the perfect size for a nice weekend get away and are always clean. The bathroom is quaint and clean and the corridors are always kept neat & clean. We love the historic charm of the old fashioned elevator, it adds the character that we expect when visiting the hotel. The staff is absolutely AMAZING, very friendly, and accommodating. The rates are reasonable for a hotel right on Whiskey Row. The hotel provides a discounted breakfast coupon at their adjoining Bistro St. Michael.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that backs up to Matt's Saloon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarshallaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here every time we come to Prescott starting way back in 1994, and while yes I agree some updates would be nice such as the TV's and the beds including linens, We wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is always so accommodating and friendly especially on this last trip the 2 gentlemen working when we arrived and whom we spoke to over the course of our stay were great even going so far as to keep me company while I waited for my husband to run to the parking garage. I’m sorry to say that I can't remember their names to pat them on the back in this forum I will thank them again in person. We stayed recently on May 19 and already have booked for Labor Day weekend and can't wait. Again my favorite and only place to stay in Prescott!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel St. Michael is our favorite place to stay in Prescott. The hotel is historic, quaint and full of charm! We personally like the rooms that face the plaza as we like to be in the center of the action on Whiskey Row. The rooms are the perfect size for a nice weekend get away and are always clean. The bathroom is quaint and clean and the corridors are always kept neat & clean. We love the historic charm of the old fashioned elevator, it adds the character that we expect when visiting the hotel. The staff is absolutely AMAZING, very friendly, and accommodating. The rates are reasonable for a hotel right on Whiskey Row. The hotel provides a free FULL breakfast at their adjoining Bistro St. Michael. The breakfast is delicious, the portions are plenty and the service is great. It is very rare to find a hotel that includes a free FULL (eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast, coffee) breakfast with each night's stay. We love how close the hotel is in location to all of the shopping, restaurants & bars on Whiskey Row. Everything is in walking distance. We look forward to our weekends in Prescott, more specifically at Hotel St. Michael. We park the car & don't drive again until we check out. If you are looking for historic charm & quaintness then I highly recommend Hotel St. Michael. We won't stay anywhere else when we visit Prescott!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighanne_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you were to base a review solely on the staff, breakfast and location, this would have been a five star experience - HOWEVER...one does need (a bit) of sleep, a clean room, and a comfy bed - none of which are delivered by the Hotel St. Michael.

Yes (!) It's a cool old building, and honestly, the location is fabulous DURING THE DAY - right on the square. Great for walking to everything wonderful Prescott has to offer.

No (!) The evenings / nights (from dark until about four am) are LOUD! Between the motorcycles, police sirens, bars (and drunk patrons of same) there isn't much to recommend a stay. Having said that, I am no longer the "party person" I once could have been, and perhaps might have enjoyed it more at that age.

No (!) Our room. We faced the square, so nice little view, but it felt neglected and dirty - you didnt want to take your shoes off and walk barefoot on the carpet ...or sit on top of the bedspread (even clothed)...

No (!) The bathroom was tiny, dark, (one of the two lightbulbs over the mirror was out) and the shower was not a pretty sight (although it's not lit, perhaps happily)...the soapdish in the shower was, well, nasty, and, sadly, the shower clogged the last evening we were there, and remained clogged the next morning.

Yes (!) Breakfast (included) was wonderful, in the cool little bistro attached to the hotel. And the hotel and wait staff couldnt have been nicer. Both big pluses.

Final opinion? A getaway doesnt have to be luxurious to be special, but for a "romantic" weekend, or even a weekend with friends, this would have to be a miss.

Room Tip: If you go, ask for an interior room with no walls attached to those the hotel shares with a bar, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prescott hotels

Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel St. Michael is a historic building with some charm. It's located on the famous Prescott Whiskey Row. The rooms are good size but the beds are in dire need of replacement. The rooms also lack a small fridge. There was no alarm clock and the TV was an old/antiquated CRT type that had poor picture quality. The complimentary breakfast was good but you basically have only one choice or a $5 credit off any other menu item. The staff was very nice and eager to help. All-in-all I would rate the Hotel St, Michael as average at best. Probably will not stay there again. I should add that if you have allergies beware. Whenever I was in the room my allergies exploded. I'm sure it was from the carpet.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Gurly street. If you have a room on the whiskey row side you probably won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Living in Prescot uk we just had to stay one night! The hotel was extremely dated and rooms basic but clean
Corridors reminded us of the tower of terror ride in Disney lol, but it had a clean bathroom and comfortable bed just not luxury!
Breakfast was included in the price and the restaurant was the opposite of the rooms, quite fancy and was busy as non guests could purchase breakfast so the place was busy which is always a good sign
The breakfast itself was lovely, by far the best we had. Hot food or continental with unlimited tea or coffee with large portions.
Attached to the hotel is a. Small indoor shopping centre with cobbled streets in keeping with the old world theme of the hotel.
Parking was in the street right outside the hotel and was free from 5 pm until 10 am, so no problem
Great location right on whiskey row right in the centre of town!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#7 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
4.1 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#16 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michael

Property: Hotel St. Michael
Address: 205 W. Gurley St., Prescott, AZ 85301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Michael 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prescott's Historic Urban Hotel !!! We're located in the heart of Downtown Prescott offering Western Hospitality with Historic Ambiance. Enjoy comfortable lodging and modern amenities at the center of Prescott's Attractions !!! Experience Prescott !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michael
St Michael Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing