We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoring a Bit of Prescott History”
Review of Hotel St. Michael

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Michael
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at the Hotel St. Michael in Prescott, AZ. It's right on the square - walking distance to just about everything. If you are interested in staying at historic places this will fill the bill. It's about one hundred years old. You realize this when you find the small elevator behind a regular-looking door. You open the door to find an old-fashioned gate you have to open and close before the elevator moves. I had a small room with a comfortable queen-sized bed facing the square. It was adequate. There was a window air-conditioner for summer days. A major warning if you book a room facing the square. You are on Whiskey Row! Bars, bars, and more bars! Bring your ear plugs! The hotel bistro serves excellent breakfasts and lunches. Even if you don't stay there, check out the bistro!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathiSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Michael
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 325 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel St Michael is located in the heart of historic old Prescott. It anchors Whiskey Row, as is obvious, a row of historic old west bars. The hotel is also an older historic property so the rooms vary quite a bit.
I enjoyed it very much and stay here when I come to Prescott. It is literally in easy walking of shops, restaurants & historic sites. Could not be better located.
I stayed in a single & there are adjoining room suites if travelling with family.
The hotel is not a cookie cutter modern but very comfortable & nice. The service was super & thete is a popular restaurant on the premises for breakfast & lunch. A full to order breakfast is included in the price.
It may be a little below the Hassayampa Inn but not by much & the price is 1/2 that of the latter. A friendly & accomodating place, I highly recommend ir.

Room Tip: The hotel is centrally located on historic Whiskey Row across from the old Courthouse. Because of th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjr5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My recent stay was a complete disaster. I celebrated my anneversary there only to come back to my room to find my bag had been stolen out of my room. later the next day my bag had been found in another storage closet of the hotel. Very sad to say this hotel has some very dishonost employees.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smikes, General Manager at Hotel St. Michael, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you feel your bag was removed from your room. It was reported to me that your bag had been found in a hallway, stored in a secure place and reported to front desk personnel who then contacted you and returned the bag to you. I heard of nothing missing from the bag. The Hotel St Michael takes great pride in the honesty of its employees. I truly hope this was just a mishap or misunderstanding and that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

You just cannot beat the location of this hotel.. But the fun part is the hotel itself. Yes it's an OLD hotel, So don't expect it to be like new "motel/hotels" . To start with there is the old Timey double door elevator . The rooms are small but very clean. The ceilings are approximately 12 feet high. The bathrooms are small and the showers are completely tiled. The water pressure in the shower is great. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. It's a wonderful place to stay while visiting old town Prescott.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmduder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are fine, not overloaded with amenities, but clean comfortable and typically historically western. Authentic.

Staff was really nice (also typically western), the building was great (I'm a nut for historic preservation). Breakfast was funny, free for a basic plate or some amount off for anything else on the menu. We used our vouchers for basic plates for the kids and ordered our breakfasts from the menu. The food was excellent!

We'd stay here again, but weren't particularly impressed with Prescott....it's not what I remembered it being. The square seemed depressed and after dusk there were a few unsavory looking characters out. There didn't seem to be ny issues however.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Old West History, elegant, and budget friendly. Hotel was rebuilt after a 1901 fire. High ceiling rooms with vintage furnishings. Ceiling fans and window A/C units. Walking distance to everything on the Courthouse Square--galleries, shops, restaurants. No high tech conveniences
except WIFI. Excellent breakfast included in the room price in the Bistro. Free parking in the Granite St Garage behind the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the Square, ask when making reservations-it will cost a bit more t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We usually just go with the flow. And that's what we did. This hotel is old, our room was small. It was clean, we had a Whiskey Row street view and was definitely convenient. Price was okay. I think we paid $80 for queen bed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcey500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michael

Address: 205 W Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3611
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: $86 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Michael 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prescott's Historic Urban Hotel !!! We're located in the heart of Downtown Prescott offering Western Hospitality with Historic Ambiance. Enjoy comfortable lodging and modern amenities at the center of Prescott's Attractions !!! Experience Prescott !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michael
St Michael Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing