We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Michael

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Michael
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in Oct 2011. As a big history buff I loved the place. Yes rooms are small, but the enviorment was amazing! Our room overlooked Whiskey Row, and the courtyard. Staff was so nice, and very friendly. I will stay there over and over. And YES the hotel is Haunted!!! Enjoy a piece of past with in this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a10com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    97
    38
    22
    28
See reviews for
51
129
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel once before and while my husband wasn't impressed, we did end up staying here again because the price was great. Our first room was a double bed and was way too small - you could barely walk around the bed. We quickly determined that this wasn't going to work and requested to change to a queen. They swiftly accommodated our request and we moved to a larger, queen room which was still smaller than the room we had in our last trip, but was better. It is old, so none of the amenities are luxurious. The shower head reminded me of a hose nozzle, but the water was hot. They do have great cable tv. Our room was right next to the Whiskey Row alley, so at about midnight, we were awakened by really bad 80's hairband covers performed live in one of the saloons. So we watched a movie and then went back to sleep when they stopped. Unfortunately the guests around us were super invasive (there was a huge family in like 5 rooms on our floor) which made for noisy surroundings, slamming doors and people just hanging out with their room doors open. Weird.

Room Tip: Avoid the double unless you aren't planning to move around much or are a single traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrashcatMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

I have stayed at this location many times so it upsets me to see some of these reviews. This hotel is a historic location so it is an older building with small bathrooms because they were added onto the rooms later. It may not have some of the amenities that the chain hotels have but that is part of the experience. Plus it is the only hotel that includes a hot breakfast from their restaurant for EVERY morning you are there. It has an excellent location right on Whiskey Row, on weekends there is some street noise but for the most part the night hotel staff does what they can to keep the hotel quiet. I have had to call the desk at night before and they handle the noise as quick as possible and on the weekends they always have one employee walking the hallways so they can nip any problem in the butt before it begins because sometimes there are guests that just can't handle their liquor. I appreciate the hotels effort the staff goes through to keep all of their guests happy. I keep returning because the staff is wonderful and the restaurant has great food. I will continue to visit this location for the service. I have worked in the service industry for many years and I know that somethings are out of the control of the people working. Thanks for the experience and all the hard work!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The night staff at this hotel are AWFUL! Not only did they treat us like children, the man followed us to our room and stood behind us like a creepy old man trying to follow us into our room! Even after I politely asked him to leave, as he was making us uncomfortable, he still lingered behind us. It was not until I told him that I would not open the door until he left, that he finally left. It was very disturbing and an uncomfortable, as a guest. The rest of the hotel just needs major updating. Bathrooms are incredibly small and old, as well as the rest of the decor. We will NOT be returning to this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

First of all, my reservations for my wedding weekend were all messed up!! The first lady I talked to just gave me attitude and still "couldnt" fix my reservations. A great lady who calls herself "queen of customer service" was FANTASTIC tho!! She fixed everything the next day and was soo nice about it all. To top it off, there is a CREEPY night desk clerk who followed different people from my wedding party, to their rooms and would not go away until they were actually in the room. My brides maid was at a vending machine, getting soda another night and he said she had to be in her room. On another night, this creep man stood behind her, arms folded and would not leave till she unlocked her door-she finally told him to go away and that he was being creepy-He followed other members of my wedding party, including myself, to their rooms as well. He was CREEPY and made us all feel very uncomfortable all weekend!!! HE SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO DO THIS TO PAYING ADULT CUSTOMERS!!!! Very upset and creeped out!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I cannot imagine how popular this hotel would be if they would update these rooms (beds, bedding, carpet, tv, furniture). When we stayed there, the bed was horrible. It needed to be tossed out. The furniture looked like it came from a thrift store. I love where the hotel is located and if it were updated would most likely be sold out most if not all of the time. The staff were all pleasant and the hotel restaurant was excellent. This hotel has so much potential. Sad that is just keeps deteriorating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burt9756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in room 207, a king bed room. The room size was OK, but the bed was nothing more than a 2 inch slab of hard foam rubber laid on a wood bed frame!! No mattress or box spring!! There wasn't even a decent chair to sit on. We had reservations for two nights, but cancelled the second night. Although the desk clerk appologized they offered no compensation for the poor accomodations. The only redeeming factor was the included breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and check out the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michael

Property: Hotel St. Michael
Address: 205 W Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3611
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Michael 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prescott's Historic Urban Hotel !!! We're located in the heart of Downtown Prescott offering Western Hospitality with Historic Ambiance. Enjoy comfortable lodging and modern amenities at the center of Prescott's Attractions !!! Experience Prescott !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michael
St Michael Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing