We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old Territorial Hotel...Charming..Perfect for those wishing to avoid a chain.”
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An old Territorial Hotel...Charming..Perfect for those wishing to avoid a chain.”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

If you like the "unique" and love old hotels, then I really recommend and suggest the Hassayampa for its charm and the feel of the place. It is a historic hotel. Remember, this is not going to be something that blows you away with elegance. The rooms are small, like old hotels, they are tastefully decorated, but not fancy. The floors creak a little and it has a long history. It is beloved by locals, it is beloved by those who have stayed there for its charm and location, and it is still the site for many a local event. When I was there they were decorating the lobby in halloween spookinness for a local charity fundraiser. The night I joined them, the patio was filled with alums of the local Embry and Riddle flight school

The restaurant and bar are really interesting and again historic.

I have stayed here twice and enjoyed it enough to stay again. Its even a little romantic with its charm. The bar is a little dead each time I came and the breakfast wasn't as good this time was it was the first time I visited. The rates are great.

Tips. First the location cant be beat. It is steps away from the Old Courthouse square and Whiskey Row. It is also about a 5-10 minute walk (through a lovely historic district) to Acker park where a system of well marked hiking trails give you a great walk or run overlooking the city.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    236
    77
    37
    25
See reviews for
120
403
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Our arrival at the Hassayampa Inn was the culmination of a long day that included a book signing at the Barnes & Noble store in Flagstaff, almost three hundred miles of driving, and a torrential storm. The friendly and professional staff as well as the attention to detail in the preservation and restoration of this property as evidenced by the lobby were a breath of fresh air.
The room was small but clean and comfortable. Only the electronic card lock on the doors, the small television, and the telephone broke the illusion of being immersed in a delightful time capsule.
Breakfast in the Peacock Room was a true bargain with excellent food, pleasant ambiance, and an overwhelming since of history.
A full review with photos is posted on my blog - Route 66 Chronicles.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

My colleagues and I have stayed at the Hassayampa a few times on business trips to the Prescott area recently. We find the "Old Arizona" charm of the hotel appealing. There is a nice boutique bar in the hotel, where live music is played every afternoon. A nice restaurant can also be found there. The hotel is close to the square and many of the attractions that make Prescott so popular.
While this is not the Hampton Inn and does not pretend to be, is has a charm onto its own and is a refreshing break from the routine.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGOpfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2009

had breakfast and lunch here - in the Peacock - and the food is fantastic,
the manager/hostess and wait staff are impeccable and KNOW how to take care
of you....with smiling faces and service galore...
prices are reasonable for eating in this ultra clean room that is so
central to downtown....one block from the square !

don't miss it !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

we have just returned from prescott Arizona where we had a wonderful two night stay at the Hassayampa Inn. The staff was very pleasant. Could not do enough for us. our suite of rooms number 313 was delightful. living room with tv, microwave and little fridge. our suite had two bathrooms and a tv in the bedroom. the entire inn immaculate. had dinner in the dining room. excellent service and the food wonderful. also had two breakfasts and all was A-1. can't wait to return. Very historic property. If you want modern go to a Holiday Inn. the inn is right in the heart of town and very convenient to everything

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefoonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Hotel has an outstanding location with an abundance of on-street parking, and meals and service in the restaurant were great. Unfortunately, these were the best parts of our experience at the hotel - the following comments have nothing to do with the hotel being a historic landmark and therefore not "modern". Despite the fact that we were the only people in the lobby during check-in, our greeting from the front desk consisted of the young man asking for a driver's license and credit card after we gave him our name, then telling us that we could only use the elevator if one of the staff was available to operate it. Housekeeping was spotty and inconsistent: trash cans in the bedroom still contained items from the previous occupant, the corners of our shower and the track that guides the shower doors needed a good scrubbing with bleach and a brush to remove mold, and although our used bathroom glasses were removed by housekeeping each morning, for some reason we had to request replacements. And historic hotel or not, the bed situation was a mystery: at an average cost per night of $160 for 5 nights (not including meals), bed linens should be new and crisp, mattresses should replaced frequently enough so that they don't cause guests to roll to the center of the bed during the night, and pillows should be replaced when the filling starts to separate and bunch up. Unless you have to stay in the heart of downtown "Preskit", you might want to consider saving some $$ and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starbucks20036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed there over the 4th of July holiday. I loved the personable service from the staff from the moment we arrived. The front dest staff were playful and willing to jump in and help us with our luggage. Throughout our stay, the front desk staff were able to remember our names and use them to address us.
We had a problem with our toilet, and from the time we told them of the problem, they had someone up in our room to replace the toilet within minutes. The whole process took an hour and they left the place very clean. It was no disturbance to us at all.
I loved the courtyard music each night from 5-7pm. Nice jazz outside in the beautiful green courtyard. Drinks were available, too. From there we went to the dining room and enjoyed our dinner. Comfortable and tasty. Afterwards, we stopped in the bar where there was a different group playing jazz. We enjoyed ourselves there for a while as well.
We loved the lobby and enjoyed people watching and relaxing there for a while, too. There was a piano there available for anyone who could play.
The beds were firm, which we liked ,and we loved the furniture in the rooms. We found easy access for outlets for phones and our computer.
Easy access to hiking and the downtown square. The rodeo was fun, too.
We will return, with our children next time.
-LJB

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljbtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
484 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#13 of 22 in Prescott
308 reviews
3.9 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#12 of 22 in Prescott
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Property: Hassayampa Inn
Address: 122 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3899
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing