We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Historic Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, AZ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cozy Historic Charm”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My Husband and I just returned from a quick getaway up to Prescott where we enjoyed our stay at the Hassayampa Inn. Now, this is a historic hotel and as such there are certain "Charms" that come with it such as unique room configurations. Our room was small, which is not out of the ordinary for a historic hotel, but we are talking cruise ship small here. In fact, I think our last cruise ship bathroom was bigger than the one we had here! Didn't bother us though, but if you need a lot of space, be advised. For me the bed was a bit soft, but the pillows were awesome! We had a good night sleep here. The staff was very courteous and helpful, and we also enjoyed cocktails, live music and appetizers at the bar (Highly recommend the Pork Shank appetizer!). We also had a very nice dinner at the restaurant, which I will review separately. The location is perfect to walk to all the local attractions, and Prescott is a gem of a town to visit for any occasion. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatnJenCaveCreek_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. And thank you as well for realizing the unique circumstances that come with a historic hotel. We have many different room sizes, not all as small as some. Our staff is always happy to accommodate should you find your room too small for your liking.

Thank you again and we hope to see you for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    227
    76
    36
    25
See reviews for
115
395
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and once again the experience was extremely good. Probably the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in!

The service from all the staff from check in to check out was exceptional.

There was no aspect to the stay that could be criticised.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind review of our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in the near future. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My mom and I attended a family wedding near Prescott. She picked the hotel because it is a drop off and pick up location for Arizona Shuttle (a transportation service from Phoenix Sky Harbor airport). Boy, did that ever turn out for the best! Allison and her restaurant staff at the Peacock Dining Room is a delight and the menu is excellent... similar to a Broadmoor Hotel experience (Colorado Springs). Don't miss the coffee cake at breakfast. Front desk associates Edward and Spencer offer upscale hospitality service. They enjoy sharing local knowledge and taking care of small details, such as providing an umbrella on a rainy evening. Live music in the lobby and bar on weekends provides a wonderful place to visit with friends and family!

Room Tip: Room 301 overlooks courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. And thank you for acknowledging the employees that helped make your time even more special.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Okay, there is historic well-maintained, and then there is historic run-down. The Hassayampa Inn has charm but man, it is beat up. The carpet is so dirty and musty. Every single floor board creaks. The walls and doors are paper-thin. Note to guests: if you think the conversation that you are having INSIDE your room is private, you are wrong. We listened to an entire conversation in one room about how wrinkled someones clothes were, from the ice machine in the hall. On the way back, we listened to a couple, in their room with the door closed, talk about what time they were going out.

The elevator has to be manually operated, which could be cool, but it is also in need of repair and upkeep. The staff member has to sit there and fidget with the wheel and apologize that it doesn't work well while you look worried. So instead, drag your suitcases up the narrow, rickety stairs.

The rooms are small. You have to turn sideways to walk between the bed and dresser but it is comfortable. Good for 2 people, only.

The bar is cramped but very cool. This is where you get to actually enjoy some of the charm and details. It's the history of the place takes over in there. While you are there enjoying your drink, at some point, the traffic jam piling up out on Gurley Street feels out of place. It's hard to describe.

Now, parking. Good luck with that. There is a tiny little lot across the street that holds a handful of cars and is first come, first serve. Other than that, it's street parking and no telling how far away that will be.

The last thing is the part that bothered me the most. We reserved our room a few months prior, and pre-paid. I've never minded doing that because every hotel that I have ever done that with has a "best price guarantee". Meaning, if the price goes lower, you don't have to waste your time canceling your reservation and redoing your reservation every week to get the best deal. This hotel does not do that. The day we checked in, there were the same rooms available for $80 less per night. I considered saying something but thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt. So sorry I did. There was no credit given for the difference and I feel completely ripped off now. I know it's not stealing but as a customer who paid $80 more for the same exact thing, it kinda feels that way. For anyone staying there with reservations, be mindful of the prices and say something. They will keep the difference. Trust me.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Your critical feedback is what helps us improve our service.
We are sorry to see that you were not pleased with your visit. If you would like to call and discuss areas you feel we can improve, I am more than happy to discuss at your convenience.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A lovely atmosphere in this hotel,makes you want to dress in period costume and swirl around!! Check in was fast friendly. So many beautiful things to admire and photograph. Very friendly staff,very willing to be of help. Kevin in the restaurant was so friendly and helpful, People like him actually make you want to come back. Had the best ever Steak here,cooked to perfection.i shall remember it for a long time, so good ! If I am ever back this way again I will certainly stay here. Very pleasant experience. Thanks all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meezygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service that we strive to give to all our guests.
We hope to see you return on another visit.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have always wanted to stay at the Hassayampa Inn. I was born and raised in Arizona and finally took the opportunity during my recent visit to Prescott. I knew the hotel would be a wonderful place to stay and I was not disappointed. It was charming, historic, beautiful and the most fun I have had in a long time.

Room Tip: Room I stayed in faced the quaint street toward the downtown square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you June for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This historic hotel has tons of charm, excellent service, beds that are so comfortable and plush - we enjoyed everything about the hotel except for the other guests!

Sadly the walls are thin and our neighbors had TV too loud and argued until 1:00 am. Called the desk and they quieted them down but slamming doors and loud voices continued.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Your critical feedback helps us with continued improved service.
I was sorry to hear about the disturbance in your room. I would be happy to have you contact me at your convenience to discuss. Please feel free to contact me.

Thank you again for letting us know the areas in which we can improve. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
742 reviews
3.6 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#15 of 22 in Prescott
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Property: Hassayampa Inn
Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing