We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Courthouse Square and Whiskey Row”
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My friend and I have driven by the Hassayampa Inn for years and always say that we need to stay to experience the Inn. Well, one of those online coupons became available for the Hassayampa Inn, it was purchased and put to use.
When we arrived and checked in, the front desk person was very nice and had a great personality. When we were assigned our room, which was up on the third floor, we were asked if we would like to ride the elevator. This was a hand operated elevator, kind of cool. So we took the elevator. What a great experience. I have done it...I'll stick to the stairs.
Walking down the hall to the room was like stepping back in time with a few of today's luxuries lining the hallway. You could just image the luxuriousness of the Inn back in the 1920s, 30s, 40s. The room was small, like so many things back in that day, but comfortable. It had two full beds and modern amenities of a flat screen TV, in-room coffee, hairdryer, etc. What else do you need? I was there to sleep, shower, relax, enjoy the public areas of the inn and go experience DT Prescott.
The room looked out onto Gurley Street with a beautiful building across the street. I was having a hard time clearly seeing that building. So I walked over to the window and there was a dirty, dusty coating on that window that must have been there for years. We had to clean the window.
The bathroom is a "water closet" but it was clean. The shower had good water pressure and the hot water did not take too long to get there. Then I looked up at the exhaust fan. It really needed to be cleaned. The filter looked like it had not been changed or cleaned in the suggested time frame imprinted on the fan. For the rest of the room, it was clean, quiet, the beds were comfortable, the AC worked well. All in all, it was a good experience.
I would like to come back and experience their Eggs Benedict and their Prime Rib that I have heard so much about.

Room Tip: This is not a chain hotel with all the modern luxuries. It has smaller quaint rooms. It is wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Netthejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate the critical feedback you have provided, especially regarding the cleanliness of the window. Staff has been advised and corrections have been made regarding.
We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 848 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

The public spaces in the lobby and the patio are the best parts of the hotel. The sleeping room is small with the wash basin inside the sleeping area while the commode and tiny shower share the other space. I need a firm mattress and instead of them replacing the older mattress with a newer one they opted to put a cushy comfort overlay on it. After I slept the first night on the floor, I requested the top be removed and it was better. Beverage service is slow and the white wine was warm. Front desk staff was very nice but beware...the elevator must be manned by personnel who are busy at the desk and when you leave your room you have to call for them to bring it up to your floor. Stairs are steep and a challenge for us older types. All in all, I would suggest you merely visit the hotel lobby on a walking route and site down on the patio when tired.

Room Tip: Any room away from the main street is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Your critical feedback helps us make needed improvements in service. I was not happy to see that you were not pleased with your accommodations; if made aware our staff can usually accommodate individual needs. Thank you for making us aware of the warm wine and slow service. Management has been made aware of this.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We selected this hotel because of it's proximity to the downtown square and nearby antique shops. We arrived Saturday morning, June 28th, around 10:30am, hours before check-in, but we knew our room would not be ready and we had already planned to spend several hours roaming the beautiful downtown area before check-in. The front desk staff offered to call as soon as housekeeping had our room ready, which they did around 1:00pm so we could check in early. Each staff member we encountered was extremely friendly and very helpful. We received a call shortly after we arrived to our room asking if everything was OK (which it was). Our room was very small for a queen and the bathroom was also small, but we considered that part of the historic charm of the hotel ... and everything was spotless and smelled fresh (our bedroom, our bathroom, the lobby, restaurant, bar, and public restrooms). The old fashioned elevator was fun, too. We had a little hiccup with our room service that evening, but it was quickly rectified and the restaurant manager called afterwards to ensure everything was to our satisfaction (which it was). They also have a nice patio with great music during happy hour. Although we chose not to bring our dog with us we knew she would be welcomed if we did. If you enjoy a taste of history, you'll enjoy the Hassayampa Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our property and that you appreciate the historic charm. We hope to see you and your pet soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Spent the weekend to beat the heat and celebrate my birthday. We chose this hotel due to the location -- walking distance from the courthouse square. Booked a suite but Rayna (I think -- bad speller!) upgraded us to one with a great view when she learned it was my special day. The rooms were clean and the bed comfy. But the service sets the place apart. Our first visit here in years but everyone treated us like we were family. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff treated you right!
We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Simply wonderful. The staff goes above and beyond. Clean and charming. Bathroom was a tad on the small side. Exiting the portico can be challenging. Parking is limited so be warned. A step back in time so worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the patio get bright morning sun...at like sunrise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write in about the Hassayampa Inn! We appreciate your review and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the property.
We hope to see you again soon.
Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Hassayampa Inn is a very nice historic hotel which has been restored but still has all the charm. The elevator is original and must be operated by the staff, but they are willing at any time. Great service. The rooms are small but very nicely appointed with up to date amenities. The shower/toilet room is very small but clean and nice. The sink area was in the room. We had three people in our room so it was tight but it is an old historic hotel so it is expected. Very nice patio with music and happy hour. Very close to the town square and within walking distance to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodiSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you visit again. Thank you again, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Three couples including me and my husband decided to celebrate our anniversaries which were all in June by having dinner at the Hassayampa Inn. The old hotel is beautiful and located in downtown Prescott across from the Elk Theater. I have had lunch at the inn several times and always enjoyed it. The personnel at the hotel are very professional and nice. Our waiter was new and we enjoyed her very much. My husband ordered rainbow trout, one friend ordered orange roughy and her husband order lamb loin chops. They were all very happy with their dinners. Three of us ordered prime rib which was featured on the menu. Two of us got a piece of prime rib that was at least half fat. There was not enough meat to really tell if the prime rib was good or not. After we finished our meals we asked the waitress to show the cook how much of our prime rib was fat. The cook sent his apology, but that was it. However, because we were celebrating our anniversaries, each couple was given one dessert to share. The desserts were great, but not enough to make up for the prime rib which was their featured meal-- sad to say.

Room Tip: Go and have a drink and enjoy the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RainyDaysAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Peacock Dining room. I am sorry to hear that you were not thoroughly happy with your experience. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you at your convenience and make it right.

Thank you again. Your critical feedback helps with our continued goal of giving the best service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
332 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#7 of 22 in Prescott
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3899
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: $82 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing