We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arizona excursion”
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A wonderful historic hotel in the centre of Prescott; large inviting lobby, enjoyed a wonderful dinner there as well which you also could have served in the lobby. Very delightful and and excellent choice to have your dinner in the Lobby.
Very convenient location, good restauarnt, good staff, clean as a whistle and
I enjoyed the historic aspect more than anything.

Room Tip: I had a room that also accommodate a dog, very charming on the first floor, a few steps up from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0C0san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 870 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This historic hotel sits in a great location to explore downtown Prescott. We stayed here for several days and my family enjoyed it very much.

The rooms are dated but fine. Watch out for ghosts as it's supposedly haunted. Restaurant looked nice but we didn't eat there. Usually you can find a room for less than $100 a night which is a good value.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank lcb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The setting and ambiance are classy--as in "early 20th century Arizona." And their food is above average. But they fall far short of presenting themselves as a genuinely classy restaurant.
I took my girlfriend there to celebrate her birthday on a Tuesday evening (December 2013), so perhaps that explains why our waitress just wasn't a top of the line server. She was fairly efficient and attentive, but she lacked even a hint of personality or savoir faire. Nice person, but she would be better suited for a pizza parlor.
But the really big disappointment was this: the bread (which arrived AFTER our salad) came with a totally disappointing dipping sauce that was nothing more than Italian dressing, so we asked for butter. We couldn't believe it when our server brought a small bowl of MARGARINE! And cheap, oily margarine with absolutely no flavor at all. I don't think even Denny's serves margarine with their bread.
Unless they cut their prices in half, I won't be back any time soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed our classy ambiance, however, I was surprised to learn about a few of the items mentioned in your review regarding both the food and service in our restaurant. The Peacock Room serves only the highest quality products and we often receive positive remarks regarding our cuisine and our professional and consistent service. I’m sorry that you were disappointed and I'd appreciate the opportunity to apologize verbally, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you'd like to discuss things further. I hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I hate hotels, but had a wonderful experience here! Just driving to flag, we stopped and had dinner in town. Booked this room at a discounted rate via trip advisor and it was great! Very cool historic hotel. Rooms are small but well built so it was very quiet and cozy. Loved our stay. Only criticism would be that we wished there was a mini fridge for our dinner left overs. Overall, fun stay at a cool hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariroq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

I’m glad that you discovered our unique property and enjoyed your stay with us at the Hassayampa Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. Next time you stay with us, please let us know if you have any additional requests, such as the need for a mini fridge. We have them available and are happy to provide them at a moment's notice. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have now stayed at the Hassayampa on two different occasions and both stays were excellent. The first was for 3 days in August and the last for on night in December. The staff treat you like family and the ambiance is homey and historic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your return visit! I’m glad that you appreciate our historic charm and hospitality. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The whole hotel was very elegant and historic. The only flaw was that the extractor fan just blew the foul air into the room, rather than venting it outdoors. Surely this isn't up to standards? Though the whole hotel experience was good, I'm afraid the ventilation problem is a deal- breaker.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. I’ve notified our maintenance crew about the fan – we appreciate the feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is the BEST for downtown Prescott events. You park and you are done. Can walk where the action is. The room was clean but, as stated, with a hotel built in 1927.... The inconvenient:
1. Bathrooms are tight; 2. Rooms are tight but adequate; 3. Closet is teeny but there is a dresser; 4. To get to the upper levels if you want to take the elevator, you climb 3 steps and then a staff has to operate the old elevator. It is very cool but easier to take the stairs for us (even though there is a lack of AIR in Prescott :-) ); 5. The breakfast eggs were cold.
The BEST parts: 1. Parking is complimentary in a lot designed to hold about half as many cars as they have rooms. We were lucky to have a space. 2. The staff is INCREDIBLY helpful and friendly. They really were awesome. 3. There is a restaurant in the hotel where we had a really nice cocktail upon arrival and dinner. 4. The rooms overlook an wonderfully scenic street; 5. The lobby allows one to read a book and we also found a game room to play cards with our friends. 6. The rooms were clean and the linens were updated. 7. The complimentary soaps and shampoos and lotions were all of good quality.

We will definitely be back. It is well worth the price for the location and the good service and clean rooms despite the small inconveniences. They did their best with this old building AND don't forget to look up at the ceiling in the lobby. Gorgeous!

Room Tip: Our friends had a room where the sink was not in the bathroom but right outside and they did not lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
346 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3899
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: $84 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing