We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant looks classy...but isn't”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Restaurant looks classy...but isn't”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The setting and ambiance are classy--as in "early 20th century Arizona." And their food is above average. But they fall far short of presenting themselves as a genuinely classy restaurant.
I took my girlfriend there to celebrate her birthday on a Tuesday evening (December 2013), so perhaps that explains why our waitress just wasn't a top of the line server. She was fairly efficient and attentive, but she lacked even a hint of personality or savoir faire. Nice person, but she would be better suited for a pizza parlor.
But the really big disappointment was this: the bread (which arrived AFTER our salad) came with a totally disappointing dipping sauce that was nothing more than Italian dressing, so we asked for butter. We couldn't believe it when our server brought a small bowl of MARGARINE! And cheap, oily margarine with absolutely no flavor at all. I don't think even Denny's serves margarine with their bread.
Unless they cut their prices in half, I won't be back any time soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed our classy ambiance, however, I was surprised to learn about a few of the items mentioned in your review regarding both the food and service in our restaurant. The Peacock Room serves only the highest quality products and we often receive positive remarks regarding our cuisine and our professional and consistent service. I’m sorry that you were disappointed and I'd appreciate the opportunity to apologize verbally, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you'd like to discuss things further. I hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    227
    76
    36
    25
See reviews for
115
395
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I hate hotels, but had a wonderful experience here! Just driving to flag, we stopped and had dinner in town. Booked this room at a discounted rate via trip advisor and it was great! Very cool historic hotel. Rooms are small but well built so it was very quiet and cozy. Loved our stay. Only criticism would be that we wished there was a mini fridge for our dinner left overs. Overall, fun stay at a cool hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariroq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I’m glad that you discovered our unique property and enjoyed your stay with us at the Hassayampa Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. Next time you stay with us, please let us know if you have any additional requests, such as the need for a mini fridge. We have them available and are happy to provide them at a moment's notice. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have now stayed at the Hassayampa on two different occasions and both stays were excellent. The first was for 3 days in August and the last for on night in December. The staff treat you like family and the ambiance is homey and historic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your return visit! I’m glad that you appreciate our historic charm and hospitality. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The whole hotel was very elegant and historic. The only flaw was that the extractor fan just blew the foul air into the room, rather than venting it outdoors. Surely this isn't up to standards? Though the whole hotel experience was good, I'm afraid the ventilation problem is a deal- breaker.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. I’ve notified our maintenance crew about the fan – we appreciate the feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old Pueblo, Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is the BEST for downtown Prescott events. You park and you are done. Can walk where the action is. The room was clean but, as stated, with a hotel built in 1927.... The inconvenient:
1. Bathrooms are tight; 2. Rooms are tight but adequate; 3. Closet is teeny but there is a dresser; 4. To get to the upper levels if you want to take the elevator, you climb 3 steps and then a staff has to operate the old elevator. It is very cool but easier to take the stairs for us (even though there is a lack of AIR in Prescott :-) ); 5. The breakfast eggs were cold.
The BEST parts: 1. Parking is complimentary in a lot designed to hold about half as many cars as they have rooms. We were lucky to have a space. 2. The staff is INCREDIBLY helpful and friendly. They really were awesome. 3. There is a restaurant in the hotel where we had a really nice cocktail upon arrival and dinner. 4. The rooms overlook an wonderfully scenic street; 5. The lobby allows one to read a book and we also found a game room to play cards with our friends. 6. The rooms were clean and the linens were updated. 7. The complimentary soaps and shampoos and lotions were all of good quality.

We will definitely be back. It is well worth the price for the location and the good service and clean rooms despite the small inconveniences. They did their best with this old building AND don't forget to look up at the ceiling in the lobby. Gorgeous!

Room Tip: Our friends had a room where the sink was not in the bathroom but right outside and they did not lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Have not stayed at this historic hotel right off Prescott's Courthouse Plaza in many years, so I was pleased to note that the hotel had upped its game in terms of service and upscale beds/bedding. From the front desk staff and the wait staff at the hotel's Peacock Room restaurant to housekeeping and the young men who ran the vintage 1920s elevator, everyone was super-helpful and courteous. Rooms are all slightly different, and that's part of this 1920s hotel's charm. Ours overlooked the entry courtyard and was very quiet. Great bed, nice bathroom and toiletries. If I were to be picky, the carpet in our room looked like it was getting close to the time it needed to be replaced, but otherwise it's a great place to stay in Prescott, and it's walking distance to all of downtown's attractions. One caveat, though, I'm not sure how ADA friendly this historic hotel actually is. There's one elevator and it appears the only way to get to it is via a short flight of stairs. Ditto to access the restaurant from within the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jotinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay at the historic Hassayampa Inn. Our unique charm, downtown location and professional staff definitely set us apart from other properties. I’m happy that your experience with us was memorable. We hope to host you again at the Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a great three day visit and thought the service from the staff was extraordinary. I was there on business and had a few "out of the ordinary" needs. Every need was met promptly, professionally and with a charming smile. Everyone was so very, very friendly, especially the night staff. Riding in the elevator reminded me of visiting my father's office in the 1950's with an operator and a door that needed hand holding to be closed. We had a excellent meal and hotel within walking distance of some good restaurants. One of my best stays ever.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor with numbers in the 200's really on the first floor. Southwest corner wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your time at the Hassayampa Inn. We truly have an excellent team, so thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our staff. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
742 reviews
3.6 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#15 of 22 in Prescott
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Property: Hassayampa Inn
Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing