We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great historic inn in old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great historic inn in old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a charming restored hotel that is on the list of historic hotels. The lobby was very attractive and the food in the dining room was delicious. There were a few steps from the lobby up to the first floor of rooms and then a manually operated elevator to the upper floors. We are not sure how people in wheelchairs would be able to reach the rooms. There may be a way that we did not notice. The staff was helpful in answering our needs. We do advice that you ask to look at your room first. We did not do that and were in a tiny room. It did have everything we needed but was small. Other rooms on our floor were larger as we noticed the next day. The hotel is conveniently placed for walking about the town and we really enjoyed our stay. Like another reviewer, we thought we had reservations for two nights but it was only one. This was our mistake as we booked through an on-line agency. However, the desk clerk (Spencer)was very accommodating in giving us another night when we all recognized the error. Enjoyed the place and the town very much and would like to return some time. By the way, breakfast is not included but the dining room has many choices.

Room Tip: See body of review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us at the Hassayampa Inn. Our historic property has various room types and the sizes of the rooms do vary. If we have availability, we are always happy to accommodate requests for alternative accommodations. Next time you stay with us, please don’t hesitate to ask! I’m glad that you enjoyed our charming property and your dining experience in our restaurant, The Peacock Room. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    199
    69
    32
    24
See reviews for
101
351
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Got a room because of a great review by a couple we know. Room looks like it wasn't vacuumed, hair in the bath tub, toilet. Popcorn on floor under the bed. Will not be saying good things about our stay here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmrjamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I’m sorry that your stay at the Inn did not live up to your expectations. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities, so I was disappointed to learn about the state of your guest room. We are always happy to respond immediately to any concerns regarding our property. We would have relocated you to a more suitable room had we been informed of the situation. I sincerely apologize. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I hope that we have opportunity to welcome you back to the Hassayampa Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Prescott. I made reservations for 2 nights. I received a phone call on the afternoon of the second day from the front desk clerk. He was calling me to remind me that I had left my bags in the room. I informed him that was because I was booked for 2 nights. He said they only had me booked for one night. Upon returning to the hotel my wife asked what the issue was and was told by the front desk clerk ( Spencer ) that we had checked out and left our luggage. He claimed that people leave their luggage all the time. I then showed him my email confirmation for 2 nights and he stated that whom ever checked us in must have made a mistake. Ok not a huge deal but it was his condescending attitude that carried over to the next day when we checked out. Not sure if he knows the definition of customer service. Not once did he make eye contact or acknowledge us with any kind of courtesy. I realize the manager will answer this review with his staple answer and no we will not consider wasting our time nor money again ........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gvazmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I sincerely apologize about the confusing circumstances surrounding your stay with us. We strive to offer professional service to each of our guests. I’m so sorry that you and your wife were not extended the warm, friendly service that we are typically known for. Thank you for your critical feedback and for taking the time to discuss these issues personally over the phone. I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Inn, Everything was perfect: the room, the service, the food, all at a very reasonable price. Prescott is a wonderful, relaxing old west town to visit. Great restaurants, antique shops, hiking, and the Inn is the best location for it all.We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor, was quiet and had a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appaloosas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hassayampa Inn— our convenient downtown location is ideal for travelers interested in exploring Prescott’s many activities. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from the Hassayampa Inn, and it was a wonderful, classy, historic hotel. Staff was superb, rooms were lovely and clean, food was delicious. Slightly disappointed that "Faith", the ghost in Room 426, didn't stop by in room 425, where we were. We brought family with us who were visiting from out of the country, and they said they'd like to return there every time they visit us in the future. Our rooms each had a king size bed, with wonderful bedding. Don't hesitate to stay there!

Room Tip: Room 425 is a corner room, king bed, quiet, sunny but has blackout curtains. Sink is in the room; sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, AZ
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We so enjoyed our overnight stay at the Hassayampa Inn. I have stayed at many wonderful hotels, but this is my first historical hotel. The details are charming, and well maintained. Love the honey comb tile in the bathroom floor, and shower stall. Its all the size of a phone booth, but just the way things were in the past. Be kind to the plumbing though, as this is an old gal. Our room was small, but plenty adequate. We were on the 4th floor. I could open up the window, and get a view of the square, and the hotel's sign. We had a drink in the art deco bar, and listened to a blues duo. The lead singer, Christian, shared stories, and one of the ladies listening invited them to stay with her in Kauai after he played her song request. She danced the hula while the duo played, and then she gave have them both kukui nut leis. She was feeling good at 67 years old! It was just plain fun, and a wonderful escape! We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this Inn, for our 40th anniversary, and had a wonderful time. We stayed in room 426, which has the only balcony. Great view of the town from up there. Rooms are clean, and very comfortable. Staff is unbelievable. They are so friendly, and helpful. Highly recommend. There are so many wonderful shops and restaurants. Will definitely come again next year!!

Room Tip: Room 426 has a king bed, and the only balcony room. It's beautiful up there. There is a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Prescott
Residence Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Property: Hassayampa Inn
Address: 122 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3899
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing