We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern customer service”
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old world charm with modern customer service”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Hassayampa three times now, as every summer we try to get out of the heat of the valley to cool off for a weekend in Prescott. We LOVE the Victorian ambiance and the quaint rooms. This time we chose a room with a 'parlor' and LOVED it! The rooms are small and this extra room made our trip so much more comfortable. (Especially since we had thunderstorms and our golf plans were nixed!)
But even more enjoyable than the venue, are the people who work there. From the front desk to the maid service, everyone is so friendly and helpful. And the Peacock Room has the best breakfasts in town! See you next summer!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, chose a room with a parlor. So much more comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    240
    77
    37
    26
See reviews for
122
410
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This inn is straight out of the 1920s, even the music played in the lobby. We were visiting friends and family in Prescott in July when we stayed there. It just so happens that a group of people who dress in Victorian costumes was meeting there, so that added to the old-timey ambiance. The inn is within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and bars, so it's convenient. The restaurants at the inn also serve great food. If you have trouble climbing stairs, you should know the only other way to get to the upper floors is an elevator that has to be operated by employees, so this might not be the most accessible place for everyone. But it's charming. Keep in mind that the rooms are small--all part of the ambience but maybe not the best choice for all. We loved the experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are small, but the place is old, so that's part of the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teverbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a family Fathers day and Birthday and it could not have been better. WE had 3 rooms and they where just want we need.
Had breakfast and it was great. All the staff where very friendly. Great city to visit.
The hotel is only 1 block from the center of town. They always have something go on at this town.

Room Tip: Make sure to tell them the kind of room you need. 2nd Floor rooms are for guests with pets. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hassayampa inn is a place we stay two or three times a year. We always prefer a king-suite and this time we had a corner room suite. The suites are former single rooms combined into a two room suite. Size-wise the Inn's rooms are smallish and that comes as this property is a 1927-era hotel upgraded many times starting in the 1980's and continuing. But the ambiance is strong, the public areas are delightful and nostalgic and that counts a great deal in how we pick places to stay throughout the country. Live light-music was being played on the hotel patio/dining area on Friday and Sunday evenings. The Peacock Room for breakfast is elegantly served and the food is terrific. Afternoon and evening cocktails in the small bar is always best when sitting at the six-person bar itself. Large windows on to the street provide plenty of people-watching opportunities. We continue to feel the Hassayampa Inn is our place to stay in Prescott.

The town was buzzing, shops busy, music around the Courthouse Square in the afternoons and evenings. This trip we went to Prescott Station Restaurant and it was good food. It is across the street from the Hassayampa and it has been open only five weeks. The arrangement of the restaurant makes it tight for the wait-staff to move around so that is a negative. But the place is attractive and the staff is nicely uniformed, The owners need to cut down on the comotion so it doesn't distract from the quality of the food and place. Murphy's is another place we enjoyed. The food and beverages are very good. This is a busy place but they handle diners in a smoother and quieter manner.

So Prescott and the Hassayampa Inn remain high on our list of places to go and stay.

Room Tip: Try for Floor 3 or 4 for best town views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our 4th year in a row to Prescott for the 4th of July holiday. We live in Phoenix. For our needs (just me and the Lady), this is perfect! We always run into friends. You can walk to the center plaza, shops, restaurants, brewery, Whiskey Row! Most importantly, you can walk back from your time at Whiskey Row. A Five minute car ride to the World's Oldest Rodeo, and another 10 min to see the Fireworks display at Pioneer Park. This year of the last 3 was by far the best. Service was GREAT! Staff very attentive. Slight upgrades to the rooms. Nice touch. The Hotel Bar was well stocked, lots of great options, and an outstanding Wine and Signature Drink offerings. And there is room service! Who knew! We took advantage of breakfast in bed one morning. Breakfast came hot, timely, and delicious!

Room Tip: This is an historic hotel. Hallways are louder than newer hotels, and the rooms are small than the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks so much for your return business! We appreciate the feedback. It’s so nice to hear that your time with us keeps improving with each stay. I’m glad that the combination of our team-oriented staff, convenient location near Whiskey Row, updated rooms, and improved menu selection resulted in a relaxing getaway. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my third annual trip to Prescott for the rodeo, and my first stay at the Hassayampa.. Excellent location with some parade participants getting ready in the staging area of the street outside. The hotel's free parking lot across the street was perfect as there was not a parking space to be had in downtown Prescott.
The staff at check-in Friday night (Vanessa and Spencer) were exceptionally friendly, and always greeted me personally during the remainer of my stay. Everyone seemed personally interested that I enjoyed my weekend.
The decor is very well done without a snobby museum feel.
My room, 408, was small, but comfortable. The doorframe did allow light and sound in, but it's out of the heavy traffic flow.I would have liked a luggage bench, but I was traveling light enough that it wasn't required.
I am sure I will stay at the Hassayampa Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, 1/2 block to Whiskey Row and the square.Small room, but comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
528 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#12 of 22 in Prescott
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#10 of 22 in Prescott
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Property: Hassayampa Inn
Address: 122 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3899
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing