We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I can't say enough about the Romance Package I recently enjoyed at the Hassayampa Inn. The check-in went flawlessly, the room very comfortable and the furniture was eclectic. The package included any entree from the menu for both dinner and breakfast, a choice of wine or champagne either in the room or with dinner, and chocolate covered strawberries. We finished dinner late, but the young lady at the desk took the time to personally deliver the strawberries to our room! We even had a run in with the 'Ghost', that is supposed to reside there(not visually, but I couldn't find my keys when we started to leave, finally discovering them hidden away...). If anyone is looking for a great weekend getaway, with proximity to Prescott's square and 'Whiskey Row', there isn't any place better than the Hassayampa Inn!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieRay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    234
    76
    37
    25
See reviews for
120
400
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
275 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

So nice to find an authentically old hotel in small town America. First of all, Prescott is one of the coolest little towns I've seen in the west. That setting is important because the Hassayampa sits right next to a very attractive, old town. The building is a beautiful red brick and once inside you feel like you're in your grandmother's early 1900s house. The floors creak, the carpeting and furniture are attractive and old.

The main lobby has its original, high, painted ceilings. We loved both the bar area and restaurant which give a classy, parlor feeling.

The bedrooms, like the hallway, have kept that authentic, old feeling. Our beds were very comfortable and we appreciated the original artwork. The bathrooms are small but attractive with the old small, white octagonal tiles that you'd find in your grandmother's house.

As to service, I would say overall it was very good. Special thanks to Janelle in the restaurant, Michelle at the front desk for taking care of our barking dog one night and John at the bar who was so friendly and gave great restaurant advice. There were others who were very nice but I don't know their names. There were a couple of people at the front desk and in the restaurant who were frowny faced and unhelpful but they were exceptions.

We'd definitely come back here if in Prescott.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I wanted to get out of the heat of Phoenix and so decided to head up to Prescott for the weekend. We decided to stay at the Hassayampa Inn as it was so close to Whiskey Row and it sounded like a fun place to stay as it is one of the oldest hotels in the city. As we entered the hotel, we were surprised at how beautiful the lobby was and surprised to hear music playing which was coming from the grand piano tucked in one corner. As we approached the front desk, we noticed the gorgeous, huge fireplace on the other end. The front desk clerk was fun and inviting telling us about their house ghost "Faith" and the stories of those who have seen her. We were intrigued but not brave enough to stay on the 4th floor, where she is known to be seen the most! She then gave us a ride up on the lift/elevator, which is an old elevator that cannot be used by guests alone...someone from the front desk must give you a ride up and it was fun. The floors creaked as we walked on them and the hallways were narrow which gave this old hotel its novelty. Our room was very pretty and even though you could tell the building is old with some older furnishings, it had many modern conveniences with a very comfortable King size bed. Our room overlooked a patio just off Gurley st with a fountain and lots of pretty flowers. Ready for a cold drink, we headed down to the hotel bar and ordered some drinks and an appetizer. This room is certainly authentic and very interesting. They have a great happy hour menu and we enjoyed some potato skins that were very filling and at a great price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room also came with a complimentary breakfast which consisted of a choice of 5 different and appetizing selections which you get to enjoy in their Peacock restaurant, which is another beautiful room in this hotel. Be sure to get a look at the beautiful peacock lady enscribed on the front door as you enter the retaurant. Our visit to this hotel was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godchick515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed this past weekend the first time we had stayed there. We came in at about 3PM and immediately we encountered a problem. I had gone online and made a reservation for a king room and paid for it on another travel site. When we got there there was no room except a room with two double beds. Michelle got right to work and called various people until one of them agreed to switch rooms with us. She was amazing and upbeat the whole time. As far as the stay was concerned the bed was wonderful and the room and the breakast in the morning was amazing. Now you have to realize that this is an old hotel and you will not have gigantic rooms, but everything in our room fit prefectly for the decor of the hotel. Somebody wrote that the bathrooms were very small, however the are small compared to newer hotels, but they have a nice shower and sink and enough room that you can move around comfortably. I would stay there again in a hearbeat as it is near all of the activity and places you want to go to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tf97355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The ultimate in customer service and property renovation at the hotel. We give it a 5 star rating and will be informing all our friends of the wonderful experience we had during our stay at the HASSAYAMPA INN. Thank you Karen, Greg, Linda and Mya !!!

We will go back !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was our first visit to this hotel. It is beautiful! I loved the original elevator. Only drawback for us was that the bathrooms were a bit small...almost had to stand on the toilet to climb to the shower! However, I know that with such a historic building, space was limited. The complimentary breakfast was nice...we weren't expecting that! We loved the hotel and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms overlooking the rooftop reception area. Can get noisy...especially during we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinJen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Such an amazing time this weekend at the Hassayampa Inn in Prescott, AZ. The hotel retains original look and feel of the good ole' days along with the superb customer service of old. Want to experience Prescott in a historic setting with modern amenities? Then this is a must see and stay place in the heart of downtown Prescott!

Room Tip: Ask for room(s) with view of downtown Prescott and Thumb Butte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasparella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#8 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
3.9 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#13 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Property: Hassayampa Inn
Address: 122 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3899
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing