We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check out the Goose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Historic Area

Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many of Prescott's buildings that are listed in the National Register of Historic Places are located downtown.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Check out the Goose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We loved visiting downtown Prescott. The shops are really cute. We found the Galloping Goose Gallery a great place to purchase jewelry. The employee was really helpful and gave great suggestions. We sat on comfortable chairs in the courthouse lawn and ate some delicious ice cream. We were lucky and got great parking spots both days we went downtown. Prescott is a terrific place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mj5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    217
    28
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everybody should have a hometown like THIS!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just drive or walk past the center of town where you will see a lovely old court house, a park with waterfall fountain and gazebo/band stand!!!!!
There is statuary all over the park and indeed, all over town. I must say it is extremely good statuary to boot.
THIS is DOG town to the max....people walking dogs every where you look (In some cases the dogs seem to be walking their people).
For a town this size, there are many nice restaurants (NO CHAIN franchises) I have eaten at most of them and there is not a bad one in the lot!!!!
Lots of saloons if that is your thing and most of them are restored from the WILD WEST ERA.....Prescott was the first Capitol of Arizona .....lots of history here and free tours at the Chamber of Commerce on Goodwin Street across from the court house.
Come and enjoy!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recommend parking in the tiered parking structure in the back. It is usually free and seemed safe enough. There is parking on the street in front of the hotel and shops, but in the morning you may have to move your vehicle every 2 hours to avoid a fine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JandMCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historic Downtown Prescott”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

There is a lot of history in the immediate vicinity of the plaza. Take one of the free historic walks given by the Chamber of Commerce docents each Fri, Sat and Sun at 10AM in front of the Chamber of Commerce office on Goodwin St.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckster43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great summer get-a-way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Downtown Prescott is a great place to spend the day during summer. You can shop, visit a historic museum, eat, or play on the lawn of the courthouse. In the evening, bring your folding chair and enjoy the evenings entertainment. The town is dog friendly. Lots to see, eat and do with much cooler weather than Phoenix. Enjoy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luvspain57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Historic Area also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing