We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try this place!!!”
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix AZ
1 review
“You have to try this place!!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

So , I was a bit sketchy to try a place called the motor lodge, I am normally a westin resort kind of girl, but this place was awesome! Upon check in we where offered beer and wine along with warm cookies. After geting the history of the lodge and our room, we went back outside on the deck to enjoy the afternoon. I felt like I was visiting with my firends! The owners are so cordial, fun and inviting!
Now to the rooms...So cute! They are all decorated different, and I would describe them as retro chic. The bed was super comfy, and great sheets! The next morning we borrowed 2 of their bikes and headed downtown. So fun!!! This is such a great place for a weekend trip you are SOOOOOO close to whiskey row (walking distance) and the lodge is such a un experince. BOOK IT! You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighmaintenceAZGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    51
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
299
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We enjoyed our three nights stay at the Motor Lodge because of its close proximity to Whiskey Row and other interesting sites. The Motor Lodge offers clean and stylish rooms with the most comfortable bed. The owners Brian and Joe are super friendly and very accommodating which made the stay even more enjoyable. Rooms could use a microwave or stove. The free Wi-Fi came in handy. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This was a great place to stay. We were greeted by friendly hosts, Joe and Brian, offered snacks and a drink, and had assistance with our bags checking in to a very nice room.

The location is great, the room was great, the advice on where to eat was great (1291/2 restaurant featuring a jazz trio), but the best were the hosts. In the era of big chains, it is so refreshing to stay in a place with a caring hometown atmosphere.

It is THE place to stay in Prescott!

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, design of the rooms (not like a chain)
  • Disliked — The "rain like" shower head
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Take one of those cool cottage style motels, put it in a quiet, but convenient location, add a bed from a 5 star hotel, stylish decorating, other odds and ends, and super friendly and accommodating hosts and you've got the Motor Lodge. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobGSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Our first stay at the Motor Lodge made us happy to return! Arriving on Valentines Day we were greeted by a heart box of candy on the pillows, a delicious glass of red wine, and friendly chat with the delightful owners, Joe and Brian. Incredibly comfortable bed, soft towels, sparkling clean rooms, creative decor, a short walk into the heart of town, and reasonable prices to boot! Brian and Joe go out of their way to make your stay comfortable..

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gretna, PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We enjoyed our one night stay in Prescott, largely because of Joe and Brian, the owners for less than a year. They are making the place their own, with mid-century decor and friendliness. Everyone loves to chat with them.
We missed the open hours of the Sharlott Hall Museum so Joe did research on my ancestors who were born there. It opened a new avenue to my family geneaology.

The rooms are quaint and cozy, ours with a fireplace, good for winter. We walked 3 blocks to town, and ventured out for breakfast on Sunday morning.

Coffee filters would be useful in the kitchens!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

The hosts, Brian and Joe, are definitely what make this motel worth going to. They are fun, warm, informative and geniunely nice guys. They make you feel like old friends from the moment they meet you, and are full of ideas for great places to eat, drink and have a good time.

Our room was pretty cool. The decor was quite eclectic - some things were fun & hip and others were just odd. We had a fireplace which was nice and turned out to be a lifesaver as it was the only heat in the room. The kitchenette could be a great amenity, but probably would've been more useful if it were stocked with dishes, paper products, dish soap, and a microwave. We enjoyed the magazines, books and other reading materials that were in the room. The bathroom was very small but clean. It would be nice to have a rug in there as the floors get really cold. Also, a few more shelves would be helpful so that there is a place to put your toiletries. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the bedding was cozy, comfy and clean. I would've liked to have a headboard to lean against while reading or watching TV. The free wi-fi was definitely appreciated.

We will definitely stay here again, next time reserving one of the bigger rooms. The personal touches, the friendliness of the hosts, and the funky personality of the place far outweigh any minor negatives.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonshine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
791 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#11 of 22 in Prescott
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#13 of 22 in Prescott
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Property: The Motor Lodge
Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing