We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This was a great place to stay. We were greeted by friendly hosts, Joe and Brian, offered snacks and a drink, and had assistance with our bags checking in to a very nice room.

The location is great, the room was great, the advice on where to eat was great (1291/2 restaurant featuring a jazz trio), but the best were the hosts. In the era of big chains, it is so refreshing to stay in a place with a caring hometown atmosphere.

It is THE place to stay in Prescott!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for The Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 545 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2009

Take one of those cool cottage style motels, put it in a quiet, but convenient location, add a bed from a 5 star hotel, stylish decorating, other odds and ends, and super friendly and accommodating hosts and you've got the Motor Lodge. We loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobGSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Our first stay at the Motor Lodge made us happy to return! Arriving on Valentines Day we were greeted by a heart box of candy on the pillows, a delicious glass of red wine, and friendly chat with the delightful owners, Joe and Brian. Incredibly comfortable bed, soft towels, sparkling clean rooms, creative decor, a short walk into the heart of town, and reasonable prices to boot! Brian and Joe go out of their way to make your stay comfortable..

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We enjoyed our one night stay in Prescott, largely because of Joe and Brian, the owners for less than a year. They are making the place their own, with mid-century decor and friendliness. Everyone loves to chat with them.
We missed the open hours of the Sharlott Hall Museum so Joe did research on my ancestors who were born there. It opened a new avenue to my family geneaology.

The rooms are quaint and cozy, ours with a fireplace, good for winter. We walked 3 blocks to town, and ventured out for breakfast on Sunday morning.

Coffee filters would be useful in the kitchens!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

The hosts, Brian and Joe, are definitely what make this motel worth going to. They are fun, warm, informative and geniunely nice guys. They make you feel like old friends from the moment they meet you, and are full of ideas for great places to eat, drink and have a good time.

Our room was pretty cool. The decor was quite eclectic - some things were fun & hip and others were just odd. We had a fireplace which was nice and turned out to be a lifesaver as it was the only heat in the room. The kitchenette could be a great amenity, but probably would've been more useful if it were stocked with dishes, paper products, dish soap, and a microwave. We enjoyed the magazines, books and other reading materials that were in the room. The bathroom was very small but clean. It would be nice to have a rug in there as the floors get really cold. Also, a few more shelves would be helpful so that there is a place to put your toiletries. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the bedding was cozy, comfy and clean. I would've liked to have a headboard to lean against while reading or watching TV. The free wi-fi was definitely appreciated.

We will definitely stay here again, next time reserving one of the bigger rooms. The personal touches, the friendliness of the hosts, and the funky personality of the place far outweigh any minor negatives.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonshine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

If you are going to Prescott and need a place to stay you have to go and see Joe and Brian at The Motor Lodge.
We just came back relaxed and rested from a great stay at thier motel. First off , who greets you like they have know you forever and gives you a cocktail and some cookies??? Then after you have checked in they walk you to your room, this is a first for me!!
We were a little tired for the drive up from Phoenix (we left @ rush hour) not knowing any places to eat we asked for some ideas. These guys know thier town and told us about all the good spots for dinner and breakfast and .....coffee. They even offered to drive us or come and pick us up if we were "too tired" to drive.
The rooms are an eclectic mix but the general vibe is a very easy kind of retro thing and the bed was GREAT. We had the "cabin room" I think its their biggest, kitchen, 2 bedrooms, seperate living room and the cutest bathroom (a little small but it really doesn't matter).
I would really recommend this place to everyone looking for something out of the ordinary, very special and very affordable.
We are looking forward to going again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank prescottvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

On an Arizona road trip with old friends and stopped to spend one night in Prescott, at a hotel close to historic Whiskey Row. The Motor Lodge owners were very cordial and it was obvious that they take a real interest in making their hotel the best it can be. The rooms, there are 12 of them, were originally individual weekend cabins built in 1910, some connected with a common roof and a carport. It later evolved into a motel, the evolution of which is chronicled by a series of old photos that the Owners were eager to share.

The room had a gas fireplace and was quite comfortable, even though it was below freezing outside. The mattress was a little soft for my taste, The room decor was eclectic 50's, a nice look. All in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank archigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#8 of 22 in Prescott
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
810 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: $120 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing