We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One roadside motel you'll want to come back to on every visit”
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our group rented four rooms on our visit to Prescott, AZ. We were a bit concerned about what we would find at a roadside motel but counted on the reviews to allay our fears. This place is oh so retro, furnished with 60's and 70's thrift shop finds (all in very good condition I might add). The decor is funky, surprising, and very comfortable. Not many people can pull this off in a way that not only works, but makes you not want to leave. Bathrooms are VERY small but clean. 3 of our 4 rooms had fireplaces, which was a nice touch. Each room had a small sitting area outside. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. There was a coffee maker in each room - an important factor when I travel. Also, the motel is within walking distance to Whiskey Row and shopping.

Joe, the proprietor, was very friendly and helpful. He advised us on restaurants and even made dinner reservations for us (El Gato Azul - the subject for another great review). We were warmly greeted when the 7 of us squeezed into his small office for check-in and were presented with a welcome cocktail. Nice touch Joe!

Every part of the small complex is filled with 'objets d'art' - including the big lighted traffic sign hanging off one of the patios, the tandem bicycle (available for your use) hanging on the garage wall, the little saucer chairs on the patios, and the funky collection of telephones from the 60's and 70's. There's even an old hi-fi stereo system with turntable in the suite and an old singer sewing machine in one of the cabinets. The rooms have big bedside lamps a la 1965 - a nice feature if you like to read in bed. Also, a nod to present times, there is a wall mounted flat screen TV and free wi-fi (password 'thegrooviest', of course).

I highly recommend The Motor Lodge - except to those who are looking for a big hotel experience. This place leaves a smile on your face as you comfortably drift off to a good night's sleep. Really, can you ask for anything more? We'll be back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Coltsneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 551 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

WOW!! This was the perfect place for our stop in Prescott!! We spent 5 days visiting family and stayed in the new “house” which was incredibly well furnished and finished! It really was our home away from our home!!! The rooms, beds and bath, and full kitchen, etc. all were well used and appreciated! Everything was incredibly thought out and everything one could think of, was covered! Everyone was welcoming and tremendously helpful with dining suggestions and places to go
Prescott’s downtown area is just a couple of blocks down the road so this did not pose any problems for walking or shopping. Prescott just isn’t so huge as to prove difficult for anyone!!
The Lodge it’s self is just a throw back to a different time with every detail considered and executed to the absolute coolest of degrees! Everything and everybody has done an unbelievable job putting this “Lodge” together and I know that I will be back and staying here next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCB_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Staff is very welcoming & helpful on local happenings. I enjoyed the amusing twist of nostalgia & retro design. Comfortable night's sleep & fresh baked cookies, as a send off upon checkout. Great value for a fun & cozy stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cafemonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The motor lodge now has a cottage. My family stayed there last weekend for my birthday. The home is gorgeous and wonderful. It has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and a pull out couch. It was even decorated for christmas with a small tree. This property is very peaceful and quiet as well. There were 5 of us and we had plenty of space. We will be back:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I found the Motor Lodge online so I had a pretty good idea of what I'd be walking into. Yet, when I arrived, a list of things that exceeded my expectations unravelled.

We were welcomed by the manager upon check in and offered a beer or glass of wine, nice touch. The office was an antique store best of, so much cool stuff!

We stayed in cabin #10 and it was adorable. The brightness of the room hits you immediately upon stepping inside. The decor is not central to one style or even era, yet there is a cohesive feel that ties it all together. The fireplace was a selling point considering I had checked temperatures before booking and knew it would be below freezing that night. I must also point out that our beds were among the most comfortable I've slept in anywhere.

I loved that there were bikes everywhere just free for the taking. I think bike is the best way to take in a town and we had the option of tandem bikes or individual cruisers.

To call this place, the staff and owners charming would be like calling winning the lottery kinda lucky. I will make a point of going back at least once a year. I think you should too. Phoenicians, it's worth the trip. I should know, I drove from LA.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobschriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Everything you've read is true. This is a beautiful and lovingly restored motel - right out of the 1940's and 50's. The decorative attention to detail is amazing. Indeed, this should be a "must see" stop on the pilgrimage trail for all would-be aspiring design students. Can't say enough about the fabulous style. Beyond that, the motel is spotlessly clean, well-located, well-priced and well-attended. The owner Brian is terrific. At checkout we were given a to-go bag of freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies! I mean...come on. Not only would I return to the Motor Lodge, I'm in the process of planning to do just that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This the most unusual motel I think I've ever stayed in period.
The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. They offered great recommendations for dinner and other activities. In this regard I would put them in the top five staffs of any place I've stayed at. Ever.
Hoever, the rooms are very small - smaller than a room at most Motel 6 motels. The bathroom was tiny. The hallway going into the bathroom was about 30" wide. The shower was about 36" square. As I said, tiny.
The pillows are too soft and worthless. The shower flow was very nice.
Parking was also unique in that we had our own garage. Because all rooms do not have a garage some cars are parked in the uphill driveway parallel to the cottages which makes for s tight passage when large pick-up are parked there.
The in-window heater/AC unit is pretty noisy.
Having said all of that, the place is clean and comfortable. Combined with the friendly staff I rate The Motor Lodge as "Very Good".
If you want a slightly bigger room and a bigger bathroom, and maybe a less enthusiastic staff, then you should consider a Motel 6 at less than half the cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AA3RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#8 of 22 in Prescott
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
815 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#13 of 22 in Prescott
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#10 of 22 in Prescott
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: $119 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing