We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expections were met!!”
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High expections were met!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in the Stardust room which my wife just loved! Decor was very quirky and creative. Being a 'senior" couple was worried about the quietness but was assured that 9:30 was "quiet" time and sure enough we slept just great. Walking distance to downtown. Ask for room 5 or 6 for more privacy. We left early and as we were leaving town got a phone call from owners thanking us and asking about our stay. Now how many motel owners do that? Enough said!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    51
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
298
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Expectations are high when a place is reviewed this many times with 5-star ratings. It's a little hard to live up to those kind of expectations, I would think. However, Joe and Brian do. Ok, first of all, I have never stayed in an inn, motel, or hotel where I left knowing the owners' names. Or caring what they were. But The Motor Lodge is a gem - convenient location, retro charm, SUPREMELY comfortable bed (my most important criteria), service that is so good it doesn't even seem like "service." I mean, I felt like I was welcomed into their home - glass of wine on check-in, butter-laden fresh cookies on check-out, warm fire on the patio in the evening, recommendations on where to eat and who I could call to book a facial, even the offer of a friend who could take me kayaking on the lake. Joe showed me the empty rooms the afternoon I checked in - they were just as charming as the one I booked. In fact, the "family suite" was larger than a couple of the studio apartments I lived in during college (although this, admittedly, is not saying much). Overall, a warm and happy experience. If you want a personal touch and something as far from "corporate" as you can imagine in every respect, from decor to service, this is your place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a GEM! The owners have done an amazing job to make sure that everyone is welcome, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The decor, in the rooms, and outside is quirky, cool and...just great! Wonderful experience from check- in to check-out. Could not have asked for a better place to spend the night while in Prescott. A step back in time for my husband and l. Thank you for the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Very fun. Back to the 50's and the days before the interstates. A couple of blocks from old downtown Prescott. Welcome was very warm, free beer and soda. Rooms are all remodeled, beds comfortable. Will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here with a girlfriend recently. They gave wonderful customer service! We received a welcome beer and homemade cookies. Kim was a gracious host. We checked in early but we had groceries with us. They took them and had them put in our room for us! They even supplied us with a microwave. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. We had the room with a fireplace which was such a nice touch. Also, having our own carport was a great extra. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genoa816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cool, retro, old school, unique, fun. You are greeted with a craft beer or wine and sent on your way with a bag of cookies. Oh, its clean and comfortable. Grab a bike and ride around town. My wife and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I live in the area and after hearing favorable reviews about the Motor Lodge, we decided to book for our anniversary. We were not disappointed. The hospitality, chic decor, and overall welcoming and comfortable atmosphere far surpassed our expectations. The owners are down to earth and incredibly helpful. If you are staying in the Prescott area and are looking for a wonderful place to stay, choose the Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
4.1 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#12 of 22 in Prescott
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Property: The Motor Lodge
Address: 503 S Montezuma St, Prescott, AZ 86303-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#4 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing