We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the old buildings are fun to see!”

Sharlot Hall Museum
Ranked #3 of 69 things to do in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum that displays the lives and cultures of early settlers and the Native Americans who lived here before them.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“All the old buildings are fun to see!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

enjoyed the personal attention from docents in the museum. Exhibits are easy to read and the video was interesting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    131
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprising interesting”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Once passed up by mistake, we went back to Prescott determined to visit this site. It was surprisingly interesting as it is well documented and presented via video and on-site greeters who "know their stuff." We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and for the entrance fee of $5 per adult, I am glad we didn't pass it up again, and will go again, given the chance.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank doodeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Engaging”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We take most of our out-of-town friends here on their first full day here. Some are enthralled by the frontier-style Governor's Mansion. Some will find the gingerbread style gift store interesting. Others are entertained by the great wall mural display depicting the last 7 billion years of Arizona history - demonstrating that you don't have to be a creationist to live in Arizona. Yet others will be agog at the museum stuffed with gadgets from frontier days. Ring up a sale on an old cash register or read accounts of the fire that leveled the town a century back. And, of course, when there's an event there such as a folk-art festival it's twice the fun.

I frequently find myself bored with museums, but even though I've been through this one more than half a dozen times, I'm ready to go back with our next visitors.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mtspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful place visit”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Namedafater the woman who worked tirelessly to have Arizona achieve statehood

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth visiting for Arizona history”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Plan on spending about half a day seeing historical artifacts and learning about the first capital of Arizona.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharlot Hall Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sharlot Hall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing