We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”

Portal Peak Lodge Store & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Portal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Terrific friendly service, simple but delicious food, great place to eat - the cobblers are the best!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hiluxsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“peach cobbler, mmmmmm”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We've birded the Chiricahua's several times and usually stay at one of the cottages with kitchens and prepare our own meals. But this trip we ate one night at the Portal Store. My wife had the BLT, my son and I had the Santa Fe sandwich. All were very good. We all had the excellent peach cobbler.

The prices in the cafe and store are a little above normal but nothing outrageous, and honestly to be expected in any remote location such as this. If you expect fast food prices stay in the city.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundre, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always friendly, good food and great service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent two weeks in and around the Rodeo/Portal area of New Mexico/Arizona in Mar/Apr of this year and had ate breakfast, lunch and supper at this restaurant several. Loved the small country feel of the cafe. Always good food and great service.

Saw our first herd of Peccaries in the parking lot.

Try the cobbler; blueberry, cherry & peach are wonderful.

Spent a lot of time in the area birding, hiking and generally enjoying the mountain / desert scenary.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Green Chilly Burger ever!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The burgers are really great as are the home made tortilla chips. This place is a must if you're in Portal !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank joniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Only place in town”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The store was well stocked which is great since it is the ONLY one in town. The service was okay. The restaurant was average, yet better than what I had expected.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portal Peak Lodge Store & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Portal Peak Lodge Store & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing