We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cave Creek Ranch
Nearby Hotels
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Lordsburg)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$85
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Motel(Lordsburg)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
44
17
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
17
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain officecave creekbird feederscanyon viewbeautiful placewoodland cottagefull kitchenwi fisitting roomno cell phone servicegas stationflora and faunasized bedstone cabinviews are spectacularsmall kitchenwonderful hiking trails
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 63 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at Cave Creek Ranch in the remote village of Portal, Arizona. We are birders and had stayed there 30 years ago. Reed Peters, the owner and manager, has improved the property and refurbished the lodgings, which consist of assorted rooms and cottages. We were given the large Stone Cottage for the price of a smaller unit that we had reserved because it was being updated and cleaned. The cottage was very comfortable and homey, and the kitchen was adequately sized and stocked for a longer stay. Reed has established a great set of bird feeders and seating for watching them. (Day visitors can pay $5 to come and view the hummers and other specialties.) Most of all, the Ranch, located directly on Cave Creek, is set back from the main road, surrounded by large trees. It is a quiet retreat that we thoroughly enjoyed, and a great base for exploring the Chiricahuas. I hope to return at some future date and stay for at least a week. It was good for the soul!
Please note that this is not an upscale resort with a pool and food service. There is no cell service in the canyon, and no television at the ranch. You are left alone with nature -- the birds, the coatis, the javelinas--and that is the prize.

Room Tip: The individual cottages offer more privacy than the lodge rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buthraupis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We visited the Cave Creek Ranch to visit my step-daughter while she was conducting some of her graduate research at the nearby research station. The Ranch is terrific. If you're looking for luxury, forget it--but the accommodations are scrupulously clean and more than adequate for a time away from "regular civilization." In fact, cell phones don't work there--all the better for getting away. My husband, yours truly, my daughter, and her boyfriend all stayed in the Stone Cottage, where we could also prepare breakfast (a complete kitchen) and where the cottage was cooled by a so-called "swamp cooler," which worked very well. In the mornings, there was a parade of various wildlife--from deer to javelinas (spelling?) to birds, to.... It's just lovely there. A great few days away, with opportunities for half-day or day trips to fairly nearby communities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grmpmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I've stayed at Cave Creek Ranch both with birding friends and with my non-birding spouse and we've stayed there in August at the height of the hummingbird season and at Christmas time. The best local birding may be on the porch of the office and the main house. Along with lots of birds are coati, fox, javelinas, deer, and skunk and Reed Peters told us that sometimes there is a bear. Reed is a knowledgeable birder and also knows the mammals and reptiles. We have stayed in two different cottages (the stone cottage is our favorite) and both were stocked with seed for the feeders on our porch. The feeders in the common area are well stocked all day. We do all of our own cooking and relish the quiet-no internet, or television, just the roar of the creek. The star gazing is superb.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jppAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We were actually there in August of 2009 - I hope this is not too out of date. Reid does such a nice job - very friendly, enthusiastic. Rooms are spacious, plain, but comfortable. Wonderful area. We were visited by a coatimundi on our last morning there. Saw some deer as well. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puernux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My husband, daughter (9 yo), mother-in-law and I stayed at Cave Creek Ranch for 4 nights in April. This was our first trip to Southeast Arizona and we loved Cave Creek Ranch. Our trip was primarily focused on birding and we were not disappointed! We rented the Stone Cottage and found it charming and very comfortable. The porch was a wonderful place to relax during the day, and when it was cold in the evening we sat by the lovely stone fireplace.

Reed, the owner, does a wonderful job of keeping the grounds looking wonderful and keeping the feeders stocked for the birds. Much of the best birding we experienced in the area was done right on the property.

We are already talking about booking another trip to Cave Creek Ranch next year. The only thing we will do differently next time is to be sure to stay longer!
The Hendersons
Boise, ID

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews